Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter F
msg tools
1) An investigator has 2 strg + 1 bonus die he may use at any test. When he fights against a monster that gives you -2 strg in battle in which order are those boni applied?
can you roll just one die (2+1)-2 oder is the bonus die added at last 2-2 = 1 +1 = 2 ?

2)When you discard a monster does it count as defeated for mythos purposes?

3) A monster has physical resistances. Do other bonuses from non magical weapons apply? the 6 = 2 successes bonus from the shotgun or the reroll from the whip for example?

4) if an investigator dies, do spells, especially glamours also stay on the sheet and can be looted? can glamours be traded? they seem kinda like blessing/boon. this is a more thematic question.

thx, peter
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Hejtman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mb
1) Base skill +/- modifier from monster and then add bonus and/or dice and value from improvement token (so this one will be 2-2+1=1 (you have 1 dice only if this result is =/< 0

2) No, discarding is not defeating. And epic monster can´t be discarded.

3) No bonuses. EDIT: You can still reroll dice or use other effects.

4) Yes, they stay on the sheet and you can trade them too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
headput1 wrote:
1) An investigator has (...)
The order of applying bonuses and penalties absolutely doesn't matter.
However, checking how large is your dice pool, is the final step. If after adding everything together you would have less than 1 die in your pool, you roll 1 die instead.

headput1 wrote:
3) A monster has physical resistances. Do other bonuses effects from non magical weapons apply? the 6 = 2 successes bonus from the shotgun or the reroll from the whip for example?
Yes, all the other, non-bonus, effects work as usual.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Froggery wrote:
2) No, discarding is not defeating. And epic monster can´t be discarded

Additionally, while there are effects that do defeat instead of merely discarding (which also don't work on epics), many effects that trigger off or interact with defeat specify "defeat during a combat encounter", so effect-based instant defeats won't work with those either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
headput1 wrote:
1) An investigator has 2 strg + 1 bonus die he may use at any test. When he fights against a monster that gives you -2 strg in battle in which order are those boni applied?
can you roll just one die (2+1)-2 oder is the bonus die added at last 2-2 = 1 +1 = 2 ?
Have a look at the Ref Guide under "tests", it might help clarify

Quote:
2)When you discard a monster does it count as defeated for mythos purposes?
nope

Quote:
3) A monster has physical resistances. Do other bonuses from non magical weapons apply? the 6 = 2 successes bonus from the shotgun or the reroll from the whip for example?
wierdly, yes

Quote:
4) if an investigator dies, do spells, especially glamours also stay on the sheet and can be looted? can glamours be traded? they seem kinda like blessing/boon. this is a more thematic question.

thx, peter
Spells are Possessions. Possessions can be traded. Again, see the Ref Guide on Trading.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
Quote:
3) A monster has physical resistances. Do other bonuses from non magical weapons apply? the 6 = 2 successes bonus from the shotgun or the reroll from the whip for example?
wierdly, yes
Nikki Valens wrote:
Ultimately, these Monsters are only resistant, not completely immune.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haroth9842 wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
Quote:
3) A monster has physical resistances. Do other bonuses from non magical weapons apply? the 6 = 2 successes bonus from the shotgun or the reroll from the whip for example?
wierdly, yes
Nikki Valens wrote:
Ultimately, these Monsters are only resistant, not completely immune.
Quite!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.