BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: First design: start small, or go for the gold? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Metäl Warrior
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm weighing the options of whether to start with a small game design first as my first game design project, or go for the Big One right away (think a more narrative Warhammer Quest ACG, roughly similar components-wise).

As it's heavily themed for mature audiences, and since I'm a newbie with zero track record or experience in the industry, and a control freak, an eventual Kickstarter project sounds like a better approach over a publisher. Perhaps.

I've backed dozens of projects over the years on KS so I'm well aware of the process and pitfalls. When a few years back a good idea with poor presentation would get mind share, these days you need a slick video, pre-existing following on social media, and a solid marketing campaign spanning the entire internets. Kinda defeats the purpose of KS, but I digress. Therefore I'd have to invest quite a bit of money to get the game and campaign into a presentable format, and overcome my dislike for all social media.

From the customer perspective and as a KS regular, I'm wary of any ambitious projects where the creator doesn't have any credentials in the industry, or history with delivering KS projects. Therefore I'm thinking of putting my #1 project on the back burner, and working on a less ambitious project first, such as a card game set in the same world as the Big One. That way I could build a following, as well as have actual experience in running and delivering a KS project when moving onto bigger things.

Any thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Hagenauer jr.
Germany
Surheim
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Do what ever you like to do and what your inspiration tells you.