Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Tiny Epic Galaxies: Beyond the Black» Forums » Rules

Subject: Following actions on hiring a pilot rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Massengale
United States
Bensenville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
How 'bout them Cowboys?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What would anyone guess the ruling would be on action order for following dice that are used by another player to hire a pilot? In the base game, each player would only ever play one dice at a time, so this wasn't an issue. But now, with players being able to play 2 or 3 dice at a time to hire pilots, what if one player would only follow one of the dice if another player would follow another one of the dice? So I guess my question would be if each player has to decide for all dice at one time, or if each player will decide for one dice at a time to follow or not.

My guess on how this ruling should go is that once a player plays dice to hire a pilot, each player in turn order then has a chance to follow as many of the dice as they want. Then it's up to the next player to decide to follow none or some of the dice or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Barker
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would guess the multiple dice are considered to be spent one-at-a-time and each player can opt to follow each dice in order.

The risk otherwise is player A spends 2 dice economy (for example) to buy a pilot. Player B needs 2 economy to finish a planet so follows both. He takes the planet.

Player C is now 2 actions behind player B, even though it's not B's turn. If C was on the same Planet as B and only needed 1 economy to finish the track, he is majorly disadvantaged. I think that would be broken.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Massengale
United States
Bensenville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
How 'bout them Cowboys?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Danielpbarker wrote:
I would guess the multiple dice are considered to be spent one-at-a-time and each player can opt to follow each dice in order.


Ok, so if that's how it should be played, does that mean the player hiring the pilot declares the order the dice are played in? And then you go around the table for each dice to decide who is following? Seems like it would add a bunch of time and slow the game down a bit...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raithyn
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Why would it slow the game down? You're still working with the same number of dice (an thus actions to follow), but now the active player is moving through them faster then if they activated each for a separate action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Almes
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The dice are followed one at a time. So, if two economy dice are placed, all other players have the option of following the first one, and then players have the option of following the second one.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Massengale
United States
Bensenville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
How 'bout them Cowboys?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
raithyn wrote:
Why would it slow the game down? You're still working with the same number of dice (an thus actions to follow), but now the active player is moving through them faster then if they activated each for a separate action.


You're right, not slow down the overall game time. I guess it would just appear to slow the game down for the start player, as he would have to wait a while while other players are deciding whether or not to follow each action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
massenburger wrote:
Ok, so if that's how it should be played, does that mean the player hiring the pilot declares the order the dice are played in?


The order of the dice doesn't matter since to hire a pilot, the active player has to use either 2 or 3 matching dice. All the dice used will be of the same action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Winnowski
United States
Upper St Clair
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rulebook...only the last die can be followed.
Quote:
Dice activated to hire pilots are placed on the Activation Bay but are NOT used for their normal die actions; they are only for hiring pilots. Other players may spend 1 culture as normal to follow only the action of the last die. Players may NOT follow the other dice used for hiring a pilot and may NOT follow the hire pilot action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dannyduck wrote:
From the rulebook...only the last die can be followed.
Quote:
Dice activated to hire pilots are placed on the Activation Bay but are NOT used for their normal die actions; they are only for hiring pilots. Other players may spend 1 culture as normal to follow only the action of the last die. Players may NOT follow the other dice used for hiring a pilot and may NOT follow the hire pilot action.


I'm still a bit fuzzy. My initial read of this was that "the last die" was referring to whatever die may have been used prior to the hiring action. In other words, using two dice to hire a pilot couldn't be followed in any way, but whatever the last die used before the hiring action was okay to follow. Things got a bit muddier when I saw Scott's reply up above, him being the designer and all, but based on the date that was probably an old rule set and can be ignored.

Let's say I use two economy dice to hire a pilot. Does the new rule mean that the second die of the pair could be followed by another player as a normal economy die? (What's throwing me off is the "last" verbage. Since the double or triple dice used for hiring are played simultaneously, I don't see any of them as "last".)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
japester1 wrote:
dannyduck wrote:
From the rulebook...only the last die can be followed.
Quote:
Dice activated to hire pilots are placed on the Activation Bay but are NOT used for their normal die actions; they are only for hiring pilots. Other players may spend 1 culture as normal to follow only the action of the last die. Players may NOT follow the other dice used for hiring a pilot and may NOT follow the hire pilot action.


I'm still a bit fuzzy. My initial read of this was that "the last die" was referring to whatever die may have been used prior to the hiring action. In other words, using two dice to hire a pilot couldn't be followed in any way, but whatever the last die used before the hiring action was okay to follow. Things got a bit muddier when I saw Scott's reply up above, him being the designer and all, but based on the date that was probably an old rule set and can be ignored.

Let's say I use two economy dice to hire a pilot. Does the new rule mean that the second die of the pair could be followed by another player as a normal economy die? (What's throwing me off is the "last" verbage. Since the double or triple dice used for hiring are played simultaneously, I don't see any of them as "last".)

The simple answer is that "last" should be the rightmost die. When you look at the row, that one is last.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gideon Stargrave
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GAFBlizzard wrote:
The simple answer is that "last" should be the rightmost die. When you look at the row, that one is last.


Seconded - this is how we play it, and there's really no ambiguity in the rules in this regard.

This is 100% confirmed by the part of the rules that says "Players may NOT follow the other dice used for hiring a pilot"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.