$35.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Star Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do blob destroyer ignores outposts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erwan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
Same goes for other cards that say "destroy target base".

If the opponent has an outpost and a non-outpost base: are you allowed to destroy the non-outpost base and leave the outpost? Or do you need to destroy any outpost before being allowed to destroy a non-outpost base?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't ignore outposts. It allows any base you can attack to be destroyed.

So, sometimes you would want to first use military power to destroy an outpost to destroy a more expensive and annoying non-outpost.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Lapsley
United States
Verona
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Outposts must always be destroyed before regular bases, even with special abilities.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Kapish
United States
Brunswick
Ohio
flag msg tools
Total unplayed games in my collection: 7
mbmbmbmbmb
valpocarnie wrote:
Outposts must always be destroyed before regular bases, even with special abilities.
^This.

While this rule always applies to damaging/destroying bases, non-outpost bases may be targeted to return to their owners' hand while outposts are in play.

This is particularly beneficial when targeting your own bases.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for asking this - I think we may have played this wrong recently.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andrewkapish wrote:
valpocarnie wrote:
Outposts must always be destroyed before regular bases, even with special abilities.
^This.

While this rule always applies to damaging/destroying bases, non-outpost bases may be targeted to return to their owners' hand while outposts are in play.

This is particularly beneficial when targeting your own bases.

This is fine for your bases, but is a bug in the game when it comes to allowing you to bounce an opponent's non-outpost base. It's *very* rare you would ever actually want to do this (you'd need to have the ability to force discard 6+), but the written rules of the game do prevent you from doing it.

Quote:
If you have an Outpost in play... your non-outpost bases may not be attacked or targeted by an opponent until all your Outposts are destroyed.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
v b
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmb
valpocarnie wrote:
Outposts must always be destroyed before regular bases, even with special abilities.

Where is this rule "officially" recorded? Also, what if the opponent has an outpost with 6 life but a base with 4 life and you can ONLY do 4 damage, are you telling me you cannot destroy the base until you have enough to destroy the outpost? This seems insane to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Lapsley
United States
Verona
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skrell wrote:
valpocarnie wrote:
Outposts must always be destroyed before regular bases, even with special abilities.

Where is this rule "officially" recorded?


http://www.starrealms.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/StarRea...
3rd column, about halfway down.

Skrell wrote:
Also, what if the opponent has an outpost with 6 life but a base with 4 life and you can ONLY do 4 damage, are you telling me you cannot destroy the base until you have enough to destroy the outpost? This seems insane to me.


That's part of the cost of buying outposts. They often cost more or do less, but are there to provide that protection.
In this case, that's 4 damage that just isn't going to do anything.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
v b
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmb
valpocarnie wrote:

That's part of the cost of buying outposts. They often cost more or do less, but are there to provide that protection.
In this case, that's 4 damage that just isn't going to do anything.

So effectively outposts not only protect the player but additionally protect bases?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Lapsley
United States
Verona
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skrell wrote:
valpocarnie wrote:

That's part of the cost of buying outposts. They often cost more or do less, but are there to provide that protection.
In this case, that's 4 damage that just isn't going to do anything.

So effectively outposts not only protect the player but additionally protect bases?

Exactly
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Taylor
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
greylag wrote:
andrewkapish wrote:
valpocarnie wrote:
Outposts must always be destroyed before regular bases, even with special abilities.
^This.

While this rule always applies to damaging/destroying bases, non-outpost bases may be targeted to return to their owners' hand while outposts are in play.

This is particularly beneficial when targeting your own bases.

This is fine for your bases, but is a bug in the game when it comes to allowing you to bounce an opponent's non-outpost base. It's *very* rare you would ever actually want to do this (you'd need to have the ability to force discard 6+), but the written rules of the game do prevent you from doing it.


Looking into the bug.

I had a recent game where bouncing an opponent's base was the correct play to win, but it's pretty rare.

Ian Taylor
Director of Organized Play
White Wizard Games
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cody Smith
msg tools
erwanl wrote:
Same goes for other cards that say "destroy target base".

If the opponent has an outpost and a non-outpost base: are you allowed to destroy the non-outpost base and leave the outpost? Or do you need to destroy any outpost before being allowed to destroy a non-outpost base?


It depends, If you have another blob card out or a blob base, then you can destroy the outpost, or base, I say that because you do have to target the outpost first
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.