GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,400 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Council of Blackthorn» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule confusion. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Troy H
Canada
Peterborough
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I just received this game today in the mail. Set it up to do a trial run as I'm likely going to be playing it this weekend. I have some questions about the rule book and game play. Mostly about the buildings...

1. Completing buildings. So say on my turn I play a building. It goes sideways "in construction" I get the dice points but not the text effect.

My next turn the building finishes construction. Can I then use its action or does the given faction score have to be at the building card value to trigger it's action. (ex: villages trigger is a legion value of 4. If I completed construction on village but my legion score is only 1 can I use it's action or no.?)

Another building question. For minister of coin his one power is "first building auto triggers" does this mean my first building played is automatically completed or what?

And finally if I play a building and the faction die is 0 the text "auto triggers" what occurs then? As the building isn't complete so can it's text trigger or not? And does faction score play a role in the building triggering?

I've read the rulebook a couple times. And am not seeing anything too specific. Help appreciated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The trigger is only when you play the building. Once you have completed the building you can always use it's action, regardless of whether or not you can trigger it.

The first building that the Minister of Coin plays automatically gets triggered which means it starts construction. It doesn't matter if the Minister of Coin has the required trigger level or if he plays on a 3. He gets the building regardless.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy H
Canada
Peterborough
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I'm not allowed to play a building I don't have the appropriate trigger level for? Is that correct? (disregarding the minister of coins power)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can always play any card.

If you do not meet the trigger level, you only get the dice effect and ignore the text. Just move up 1, 2 or 3 levels and discard the card.

If you do trigger the building (by having a high enough level OR by playing it on a zero/blank die) then it goes under construction.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy H
Canada
Peterborough
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah got ya. I felt playing buildings was special (beyond the action abilities they have and the score they add at games end.)

Final question and then I think I got this. ALL text below a cards. Trigger value is considered to only take effect of the trigger value is met? Using 'brew master' as an example it's got a trigger value of 2 peasant.

Its text is "gain 3 influence points.

Discard 2 random treason cards."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. If you meet the trigger you get all of the text on the card. One exception is there are a couple of cards that say [OR] on them. Those you have to choose one of the options.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Johnson
United Kingdom
Penzance
Cornwall
flag msg tools
The Chicken of DOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi. Thanks for all the clarifications, but there is still an aspect of triggering that is not totally clear, either here or in the rule book.
The die whose value (0 or 3) dictates whether a card's text action is auto-triggered or auto-discarded - is this the die of the card's colour or the die of the triggering faction's colour? For example, with a Noble card: is it the red Noble die or the yellow Guild die that dictates whether the card auto-triggers or is discarded?
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the rules are pretty clear on that:
Quote:
When a faction card is played, the Dice Effect must
be resolved first. How the Dice effect is resolved is
determined by the value of the faction die that matches
the faction of the played card
e.g. if you play a Noble
card, the value of the Noble die (red die) determines the
Dice Effect.
Emphasis added.

Actually I should have quoted this section:
Quote:
If you play a faction card with a matching
faction die that is a zero:
The Text is resolved
even if the player does not have the proper
faction score to trigger the Text effect i.e. the
text effect is “auto-triggered”. In the case of a
Building, the Building card is automatically
placed in-play “under construction”.
Either way, only the die of the faction color of the card you play matters. Unless the text of the card specifically requires a check of a different die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Johnson
United Kingdom
Penzance
Cornwall
flag msg tools
The Chicken of DOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for that.
So, just to be totally clear: it's the die that matches the TRIGGERING FACTION, not the die that matches the CARD COLOUR / FACTION?
Sorry if I'm being dense, but really want to get it right for my first game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, it's the die that matches the color/faction of the card played. So if you play a Noble Card only the Noble (red) die matters. If you play a Legion card only the Legion (black) die matters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Johnson
United Kingdom
Penzance
Cornwall
flag msg tools
The Chicken of DOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RiffRaff14 wrote:
Either way, only the die of the faction color of the card you play matters. Unless the text of the card specifically requires a check of a different die.


I've just read your reply again, and this seems to be the opposite of what I thought! So now I'm confused...

Let's pick a random card: Cavalry, a BLACK Legion card with a RED Noble text action.
When I play this card, first I look at the BLACK die to see how many steps I go up the Legion track. Got it.
Then I check to see if I am at 5 or above on the RED Noble track to see if I can trigger the text action.
However, if a certain die is at 0, I can automatically trigger the action regardless, and if a certain die is at 3, I cannot trigger the action regardless.
So, is that die the BLACK or the RED die??
Cheers!
Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Johnson
United Kingdom
Penzance
Cornwall
flag msg tools
The Chicken of DOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, you ninja-ed me! Your previous answer explains it clearly, thank you. It is indeed the opposite of what I was thinking.
Chhers
Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Craigus69 wrote:
Let's pick a random card: Cavalry, a BLACK Legion card with a RED Noble text action.
I wouldn't think of the cards this way. The text of the card is still Black Legion text... it is just activated with the Nobility.

I would also say it helps to think of the cards thematically. Your allies in the Legion won't attack anything, unless you have enough power with the Nobility to order them to do so.

The working class Peasants won't do their jobs unless they feel safe with a strong Legion protecting them.

The Guilds won't be able to make money with out a strong working class generating that economy.

And finally the Nobility won't give you the time of day unless you have a large amount of wealth from the Guilds.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.