$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stronghold with no units? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Giant Inconvenience of Planet X
msg tools
A stronghold in a hex with no friendly units still retains control for the player.

What happens when enemy units enter the hex. Do they instantly win the battle? Or do they need to move in enough units to beat the strength of the fortification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Battle still occurs, and strength is still calculated at the end of the battle. Both players still have the opportunity to play relevant Tactics cards.

(Watch out for Summon Lightning!)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Day Life
msg tools
GasPumpGirl wrote:
Do they instantly win the battle? Or do they need to move in enough units to beat the strength of the fortification.


No, the 5/3 strength is still calculated at the end of the battle and any move into a controlled zone is still a battle and all the associated triggers for tactic cards.

So to win you would need to send in enough troops to beat the strength of the fortification, even though there is no units in the hex or summoned into the hex.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Thematically, an "empty" stronghold probably still has some sort of garrison in it that doesn't move with an army.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.