Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about tags after a card is put into play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin Schuber
United States
Big Bear City
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I am curious about certain cards that give you a bonus depending on the number of tags you have from other cards you already have out in play.

Do you get the bonuses only from previous cards you have before you played it or does it keep giving you that bonus when you put out card with the certain tag(s) after it's out in play?

Also related to this, do you count the red event cards tags even though they are face down?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Cat Five
United States
Fort Meade
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No on both counts. Green card effects are once and done--only the blue card top effect is persistent.

And red cards are facedown, preventing tag use.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Schuber
United States
Big Bear City
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer and sorry for the double post. Must have been due to me posting it from my cell phone. Oh yes, just another thing that came to mind about the red event cards. With the VP, you still get those but don't count them until the end of the game, correct?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Cat Five
United States
Fort Meade
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right!ninja
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be super-duper crystal clear, tags on green and blue cards in your tableau are always "active", and can affect subsequently played cards. Only blue cards in your tableau have ongoing effects.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex N
United States
Metuchen
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neojames82 wrote:
Thanks for the answer and sorry for the double post. Must have been due to me posting it from my cell phone. Oh yes, just another thing that came to mind about the red event cards. With the VP, you still get those but don't count them until the end of the game, correct?


I just read in the official FAQ that once the red event card is turned over, its tags are never considered even at the end of the game. The tags only have meaning when the red event is played for the first time.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Seguin
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chiefsachem wrote:
Neojames82 wrote:
Thanks for the answer and sorry for the double post. Must have been due to me posting it from my cell phone. Oh yes, just another thing that came to mind about the red event cards. With the VP, you still get those but don't count them until the end of the game, correct?


I just read in the official FAQ that once the red event card is turned over, its tags are never considered even at the end of the game anyway. The tags only have meaning when the red event is played for the first time.



Yes, that is correct.

However, it is my understanding that the Red event cards don't actually have any tags on them that are useful at the end of the game. For example, I don't think that any red cards have either Jovian or Science tags on them, which at this point in the available game products (as the expansions are not out yet) are the only two tags referenced in the end game scoring (Jovian for, well, Jovian-based point cards, and the Science Award).

If anyone knows otherwise, let me know. But other than the points at the bottom right corner of the card, the Red Event cards are pointless and noncontributory to your tableau once they are played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chrisnd wrote:

However, it is my understanding that the Red event cards don't actually have any tags on them that are useful at the end of the game. For example, I don't think that any red cards have either Jovian or Science tags on them, which at this point in the available game products (as the expansions are not out yet) are the only two tags referenced in the end game scoring (Jovian for, well, Jovian-based point cards, and the Science Award).


There are no Jovian events, but there are science events, such as "Invention Competition." Such events can trigger effects on blue cards such as Olympus Conference, but do not count toward the Scientist award.

Quote:
But other than the points at the bottom right corner of the card, the Red Event cards are pointless and noncontributory to your tableau once they are played.


Correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.