Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Black Ice and the Valley of Fire. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I skip over the valley of Fire directly to the Crown using Black Ice even if I don't have a Talisman?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Coram
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't have the rules in front of me, but I'm pretty certain that there is nothing that lets you skip _any_ of the Inner Realm space - all spaces must be encountered one by one. There are things that improve your odds at those spaces, even to the point of not needing to roll, but you still have to encounter those spaces. And the act of getting to the top without a Talisman sorta goes against the whole idea of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the Black Ice spell specifies that it can't be cast on a space in the Inner Region.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nutrimat wrote:
Don't have the rules in front of me, but I'm pretty certain that there is nothing that lets you skip _any_ of the Inner Realm space - all spaces must be encountered one by one. There are things that improve your odds at those spaces, even to the point of not needing to roll, but you still have to encounter those spaces. And the act of getting to the top without a Talisman sorta goes against the whole idea of the game.


There are at least three ways that I think officially work.
Dungeon, best the Lord of Darkness by sufficient amount.
Dungeon treasure Cloak of Feathers
Highland relic Arnkell

randomlife wrote:
I think the Black Ice spell specifies that it can't be cast on a space in the Inner Region.
Correct. The card says it doesn't work in the inner region.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grarrrg wrote:
Highland relic Daniel


The what now? You guys gave Relics names laugh ?

If someone else is already on the Crown, Transference Spell also allows you to get to the CoC without a Talisman. There was an Adventure card from Sacred Pool (Spiteful Imp) that would see you move to any other character in any Region, so if someone was on the CoC, you could bounce there from anywhere.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin REEVE
Switzerland
St-L├ęgier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is Arkiel rather than Daniel, I think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arnkell you philistines
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ha! I was going to add Arnkell to the list, because I thought they were talking about some card I had never heard of.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:

The what now? You guys gave Relics names laugh ?
Posting on a phone. Thought I caught all the autocorrects. It's better now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.