Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Legendary Encounters: A Firefly Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Episode 1 recover 3 salvage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
noah caldwell
United States
galt
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We are playing episode 1 part 1 and the objective cards says gain a credit and a talent .. I know get the credit at the end but do you also get the talent card at the end ? Who gets it and is it at the intermission when they get divided out? Or do you get the talent once you get collect the first crate and so on ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
noah caldwell
United States
galt
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Episode 1 recover 3 salvage never mind figured it out :)
Found it thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmb
I've always played it that whichever player does the thing to accomplish the objective (in this case, the player that spends recruit points to recover the Salvage, in other cases, the player that defeats the enemy, etc.) gains the Talent, and they get it (added to their discard pile) as soon as they accomplish the objective (in this case, whenever someone recovers a Salvage. so it happens up to three times).

As far as credits go, I usually keep a piece of scrap paper handy to tally the credits earned (or lost) each episode. (just remember that any credits not used during each intermission are lost. you can't "bank" them. unless you wanted to houserule it that way, I guess)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
noah caldwell
United States
galt
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I was able to find the answer last night . But thanks for your help
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Campbell
United States
Valencia
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
noahshu wrote:
Found it thanks :)


would help if you said where you found the answer and what it is so others who click on this thread can figure it out, too. :)
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
May the Great Spirit Bless all who read this.
Avatar
mb
noahshu wrote:
Thanks. I was able to find the answer last night . But thanks for your help
Ummm yes and the answer is?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Snowman wrote:
noahshu wrote:
Thanks. I was able to find the answer last night . But thanks for your help
Ummm yes and the answer is?

The answer is in the rules:

Rules - Objectives (p15) wrote:
You can complete Objectives in an Episode
in any order. Whenever you complete
an Objective during an Episode, you’ll
immediately get a reward as indicated on
the Objective Card. Some rewards give you
Talent cards for your deck, and some give
you Credits that are spent after the Episode
is finished. Some Objectives will tell you to
place a card next to Serenity. This is to help
you remember how many Credits you’ve
earned during the Episode.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin L. Kitchens
United States
Gainesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Snowman wrote:
noahshu wrote:
Thanks. I was able to find the answer last night . But thanks for your help
Ummm yes and the answer is?

The answer is in the rules:

Rules - Objectives (p15) wrote:
You can complete Objectives in an Episode
in any order. Whenever you complete
an Objective during an Episode, you’ll
immediately get a reward as indicated on
the Objective Card. Some rewards give you
Talent cards for your deck, and some give
you Credits that are spent after the Episode
is finished. Some Objectives will tell you to
place a card next to Serenity. This is to help
you remember how many Credits you’ve
earned during the Episode.


Well more unclear wording.

The "Objective" for Part I is to Recover 3 Salvage -- so that objective is not complete (as worded) until all 3 of the salvage are recovered. That then ends the scenario of course and you're left with 3 Credits and 3 Talent cards.

So from this thread, I'm to understand when a PART of an objective is completed, get the reward for that part. But not as the card is actually worded.

So in future releases, there should be 3 Objectives on the card,

Objective (Collect one salvage)
Objective (Collect one salvage)
Objective (Collect one salvage)

And as each objective is then completed, you get the reward.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Fletcher
msg tools
klkitchens wrote:
Clipper wrote:
Snowman wrote:
noahshu wrote:
Thanks. I was able to find the answer last night . But thanks for your help
Ummm yes and the answer is?

The answer is in the rules:

Rules - Objectives (p15) wrote:
You can complete Objectives in an Episode
in any order. Whenever you complete
an Objective during an Episode, you’ll
immediately get a reward as indicated on
the Objective Card. Some rewards give you
Talent cards for your deck, and some give
you Credits that are spent after the Episode
is finished. Some Objectives will tell you to
place a card next to Serenity. This is to help
you remember how many Credits you’ve
earned during the Episode.


Well more unclear wording.

The "Objective" for Part I is to Recover 3 Salvage -- so that objective is not complete (as worded) until all 3 of the salvage are recovered. That then ends the scenario of course and you're left with 3 Credits and 3 Talent cards.

So from this thread, I'm to understand when a PART of an objective is completed, get the reward for that part. But not as the card is actually worded.

So in future releases, there should be 3 Objectives on the card,

Objective (Collect one salvage)
Objective (Collect one salvage)
Objective (Collect one salvage)

And as each objective is then completed, you get the reward.


No, that the wording of the reward is "... 1 credit and a Talent for each piece ..." Each piece you salvage gets you a Talent. If you get all 3 you get 1 credit.

So the overall reward for completing this objective is 1 credit and 3 talents. Otherwise they would have said " ... a credit and a talent for each piece ...".

They could still do 3 objectives, I guess, if the first two were gain a Talent and the last one was gain a Talent and a Credit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's almost guaranteed to not be the intended method. You are using very strict wording, and I really don't think they meant for it to be read that way.

Look at other similar episodes and they usually give a few Credits. It sounds silly for the initial mission that teaches you the game to have only one Credit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmb
Clipper wrote:
That's almost guaranteed to not be the intended method. You are using very strict wording, and I really don't think they meant for it to be read that way.

Look at other similar episodes and they usually give a few Credits. It sounds silly for the initial mission that teaches you the game to have only one Credit.

well, I think it is silly that the "initial mission that teaches you the game" has an enemy ship that is pretty much undefeatable. But there it is (and it always seems to come out early).

That being said, I interpretted it as giving a credit and a talent for each piece of salvage (so 3 total credits and 3 total talents), awarded 1 at a time as each piece is successfully recovered. If they had wanted to award only 1 total talent, it would have been worded "a Talent for each piece, and 1 Credit".

Of course, like many other aspects in this game, this provides another way to adjust "difficulty level".
If you really want to make it more difficult (i.e. more of a "challenge"), then you could play it that you only get one overall credit, and none of the rewards are given out until the entire objective is completed. Otherwise, take it as (1 cr and 1 t) for each piece salvaged, awarded immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Fletcher
msg tools
They always announce the amount of Credit part of the reward first, and it's always the numbered amount of the reward. A couple of cards:

Serenity Part 1
Objective: Recover three Salvage (1 credit and a talent for each one.)

Shindig
Objective 2: Impress Warwick Harrow. (3 credits and each player who helped impress him gains a talent.)

Safe
Objective 1 (Mandatory): Rescue the two captives (1 credit and a talent for each one.)

This actually hasn't helped clarify it. There are no objective or side job cards that are definitive either way. I guess it does go back to not being clear.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.