Recommend
13 
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can someone please explain how the Robotic Workforce card work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Silberman
United States
Portola Valley
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's lat and maybe I am being dense but I don't understand how the card works.

Does it actually allow me to copy any production increase from a previously played card for 9 ME?

Thank you.

Greg
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Reuter
Germany
NRW
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Its a known fact that robots work twice as fast as human beings. So, yes, by playing this card you get rid of the slow and lazy crew and your robots will double the production.

Note, robotic workforce doubles everything within a brown box on the target card. In some cases they might double a decrease of production as well!
Also, this card can only target a building card (a project card with a building tag in the top right corner).
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is actually one of the more complex cards in the game. As Carsten states, you copy only the brown box on another card.
My favorite example:
I play Strip Mine (which has a building tag), decreasing my energy production 2 steps, but increasing my steel production 2 steps and my titanium production 1 step. The card also raises the oxygen 2 steps, giving me 2 Terraform Rating.

After that, I play Robotic Workforce. Once again, I decrease energy production 2 steps and increase steel production 2 steps and titanium production 1 step. But this time I do not raise oxygen.
24 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As a follow up question, how does this card interact with building cards that allow placement of special tiles?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Love Nilsson
Sweden
Trelleborg
Skåne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Not. Only copies production (brown) boxes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LoveNson wrote:
Not. Only copies production (brown) boxes.


There is at least one card with a building tag (Shopping District?) whose brown box contains the symbol for a special tile.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
MDJD wrote:
LoveNson wrote:
Not. Only copies production (brown) boxes.


There is at least one card with a building tag (Shopping District?) whose brown box contains the symbol for a special tile.


You're thinking about Mining Rights and Mining Area. The production of those cards depend on the special tile that they also place (giving you production of the cooresponding steel or titanium placement bonus you get for the tile).
If you use Robotic Workforce on for example Mining Rights, you get the same production that you originally got when playing Mining Rights, and thus depending on where that tile was placed.

So if Mining Rights placed its tile on a titanium resource bonus, you got both the titanium bonus resource and 1 step of titanium production. When playing Robotic Workforce, you get another step of titanium production.

Cheers!
18 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fryxen wrote:
MDJD wrote:
LoveNson wrote:
Not. Only copies production (brown) boxes.


There is at least one card with a building tag (Shopping District?) whose brown box contains the symbol for a special tile.


You're thinking about Mining Rights and Mining Area. The production of those cards depend on the special tile that they also place (giving you production of the cooresponding steel or titanium placement bonus you get for the tile).
If you use Robotic Workforce on for example Mining Rights, you get the same production that you originally got when playing Mining Rights, and thus depending on where that tile was placed.

So if Mining Rights placed its tile on a titanium resource bonus, you got both the titanium bonus resource and 1 step of titanium production. When playing Robotic Workforce, you get another step of titanium production.

Cheers!


Oh, excellent. That would not have occurred to me! Thanks for the response.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Silberman
United States
Portola Valley
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. This is how we played it but I wanted to double check.

Cheers,

Greg
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can it copy the brown production box of an event card you already played?

(Normally I thought those were face down and their tags didn't count after that)

-Dave
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There are no building events, so that isn't relevant. However, the tags on face-down cards don't count, so even if there were building events, it could not copy those production boxes.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
joe sedita
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Can it copy the brown box of say, underground detonations? Just giving me the two heat production without having to "tap"? Thanks.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
ghettoimp wrote:
Can it copy the brown box of say, underground detonations? Just giving me the two heat production without having to "tap"? Thanks.


Good question! No.
It can not copy production boxes that are part of an effect or action in the upper panel of a blue card; only a production box on the lower panel (on a green or blue card).
FAQ updated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Laubender
Germany
München
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DerDiplomat wrote:
Its a known fact that robots work twice as fast as human beings. So, yes, by playing this card you get rid of the slow and lazy crew and your robots will double the production.

Note, robotic workforce doubles everything within a brown box on the target card. In some cases they might double a decrease of production as well!
Also, this card can only target a building card (a project card with a building tag in the top right corner).
Actually it does not double (=multiply by 2) the value(s) in the brown box, but duplicate (=copy) it.

I found the German translation of the card slightly misleading: "Verdoppele das gesamte braune Produktionsfeld einer deiner ausgespielten Gebäudekarten." Because of the word "Verdopple" I thought, I would get twice the value out of the building card. IMO a better translation would have been: "Führe das gesamte braune Produktionsfeld einer deiner ausgespielten Gebäudekarten erneut aus"
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Badura
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I choose for Robotic Workforce a card for which I cannot afford to pay with my production?

Like in one of the examples above: "Strip Mine (which has a building tag), decreasing my energy production 2 steps, but increasing my steel production 2 steps and my titanium production 1 step". Can I choose the Strip Mine card while having energy production at 1?

I wouldn't be able to play Strip Mine in such case, but can I copy it? I would assume I cannot (seems logical), but I'm asking just to make it 100% clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
adambadura wrote:
Can I choose a card for Robotic Workforce for which I cannot afford to pay with my production?

Like in one of the examples above: "Strip Mine (which has a building tag), decreasing my energy production 2 steps, but increasing my steel production 2 steps and my titanium production 1 step". Can I the Strip Mine card while having energy production at 1?

I wouldn't be able to play Strip Mine in such case, but can I copy it? I would assume I cannot (seems logical), but I'm asking just to make it 100% clear.

No.
Card effects have the same requirements and exceptions that playing cards have, so you must be able to perform the whole effect with only 3 exceptions: you can ignore raising a global parameter that is already maxed out, you can ignore taking resources that you can't collect, and you can ignore destruction of resources caused by a red-bordered resource icon). So production must always be performed.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boris Nedyalkov
msg tools
Quick question.

Robotic Workforce + Medical Lab.

Example - When i play Medical Lab, I have 8 tags, so that equals 4 income.

Question: Does that mean that when I play Robotic Workforce later, when i have 12 tags, i will get 6 income. Or maybe i have to gate 4 as when i played it the first time.

Thank you in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ArnorBG wrote:
Quick question.

Robotic Workforce + Medical Lab.

Example - When i play Medical Lab, I have 8 tags, so that equals 4 income.

Question: Does that mean that when I play Robotic Workforce later, when i have 12 tags, i will get 6 income. Or maybe i have to gate 4 as when i played it the first time.

Thank you in advance!


As if you played Medical lab now.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Ruckeisen
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
orjanalmen wrote:
As if you played Medical lab now.

Which is convenient, too, because otherwise, you'd have to remember or write down how much you got from MedLab the first time around.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
I play Mining Area.

On a later turn, I play Robotic Workforce.

What happens???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sonny A.
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
chuckm1961 wrote:
I play Mining Area.

On a later turn, I play Robotic Workforce.

What happens???


You select Steel or Titanium and then increase your production of that by 1 (assuming you picked Mining Area as the target of Robotic Workforce).

Clarification from Fryx: Production increase must match the tile placement bonus of a Mining Area tile (owned by you).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Ruckeisen
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You gain +1 of the same kind of production again (steel or titanium) as you got when you played Mining Area.

Since you marked the Mining Area tile with a token in your player colour (as you do with any tile you place, except oceans), it's easy to identify whether you got steel or titanium from it, in case you forgot.

It's possible that you own both mining tiles (since Mining Area and Mining Rights use the same kind of tile), and one got you steel and the other titanium. But even if you forgot which was which, you can apply Robotic Workforce to either of them (they both are building cards and both grant you production), so you can effectively choose to either gain another +1 steel or titanium production in this case. (If both tiles got you steel, then obviously Robotic Workforce can only get you yet more steel production out of them.)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
One, Sonny and Florian differ on the rule (do I get a choice on Steel or Titanium, or don't I?). What is your authority for your reading of the rule?

Two, seems this should be made clearer in the rules or a formal FAQ, since the plain reading of Robotic Workforce would indicate that I get to put out a Mining Area tile ... again ... in addition to the production bump.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chuckm1961 wrote:
One, Sonny and Florian differ on the rule (do I get a choice on Steel or Titanium, or don't I?). What is your authority for your reading of the rule?

Two, seems this should be made clearer in the rules or a formal FAQ, since the plain reading of Robotic Workforce would indicate that I get to put out a Mining Area tile ... again ... in addition to the production bump.


No, you don't, since the tile is not part of the production box. With robotic workforce, you copy only the production box of a building card. The production box of Mining Area does not include placing the tile. However, it does have an asterisk, indicating that the iconography is incomplete and you have to read the accompanying text; the part that applies to the production box says "increase your production of THAT resource one step" [emphasis mine], meaning the resource on which you placed the tile. When you play Robotic Workforce, you increase your production of THAT resource again.

Then there's the thematic argument; if you use your robots to increase the production of your iron-mining area, what will happen? They will produce more iron (and thus steel). They will not start producing a different metal that isn't found in that spot! (I know it's dangerous to reason too much from theme, but I thought I'd mention it.)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sonny A.
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would argue that the asterisk is outside the production box and that you have a choice.

I agree that thematically it would make sense that they double the production of the previously chosen mine. But here I would go technical when asked about it. Cards do not usually have memory about previous board states.

But I'm open for an official ruling.

Perhaps one of the game designers could chime in?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.