The rulebook doesn't really explain what happens if you try to steal something from another player that doesn't have enough of what you're stealing but does have *some* of what you're attempting to steal. For example
- Player A exploits a location that allows him to steal 2 contraband from another player. He nominates that he's going to steal from Player B. - Player B declares that he only has 1 contraband.
The text in the rulebook says If the Gang you’re trying to Steal from doesn’t have enough of the items you’re Stealing, you (and only you!) may look behind their Blind at their hidden assets, assessing their strengths.
So in the example listed above would Player A get to steal the 1 contraband from Player B before looking behind his blind or not?
My take on this was that the rules as written would suggest that Player A gets nothing, but another player argued that this doesn't make much sense thematically because if you're stealing contraband off somebody then just because they didn't have as much as you were looking for that wouldn't mean that you'd leave them with whatever they did have.