Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick question about asterisked cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luc
United Kingdom
Manchester
Greater Manchester
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

An asterisk on a card means that it is removed after the event, according to the rulebook, right?

My friend and I were playing it today and found it odd that some asterisk cards have the red text reminder at the bottom of the card, and some don't (e.g. Norad).

Are we playing it right? Is it an oversight, lack of space on the card or some other reason?

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's probably just an oversight. Isn't NORAD also the only underlined card that doesn't have a token associated with it? I'd wager it has something to do with GMT forgetting about these conventions when designing the optional cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph M.
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
there are misprints on the optional cards. See BGG TS front page:

Quote:
Optional cards 105, 106 and 108 all have issues in the 2009 Deluxe edition. Depending on when your copy was produced you may have a slip of paper describing the corrections for 105 and 106.
As of late January 2010, all new copies now contain an extra three corrected copies of these cards. The new cards are also available for download from the GMT web site.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc
United Kingdom
Manchester
Greater Manchester
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys. So they are definitely removed from play once the event triggers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlo Patek
Italy
Venice
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

Underlined events with a lasting effect have counters to remember that they have been activated
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph M.
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No,

The printing errors go both ways.

Norad will stay on the table and not be removed; it's a "stay in play" card. But it will never return to the discard pile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.