20 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Worthy of the hype? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Hammond
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm relatively new to board gaming, picking up the hobby a couple of years ago - taking the place of video gaming. I guess it's coming from playing video games I gravitated towards the bigger, heavier end of board gaming - looking for an epic engrossing experience.

Like many, I got easily caught in the hype radiating on Scythe. I didn't back it (KS isn't something I've plunged into yet) - but I kept an eye out for the retail, eager to add it to my rapidly growing collection.

On the outset it offered everything I was looking for - its a big game, I do love a big sprawling board. Lots of decisions - I'm big into Euro games, and love having lots of moving pieces and braining burning decisions. And the theme - like most, this just looked a cut above everything else. The first 'blockbuster' board game? Maybe - it certainly has helped widened the hobby outside of the hardcore contingent.

And, like all hype - it was quickly punctured when the game started getting mass plays. Everything I was hoping it to be, was being declared as underwhelming. The combat was minimal, the game wasn't very interactive and it played like solo game with other people getting in your way a bit. I was looking for tense combat, heavy interaction and a resource management element that rewarded strategic plays.

So, this passed Tuesday - I took my newly purchased copy to my local, fairly large gaming group - with a group of 4 (5 with me) players new to the game lined up to play. When I posted on the Facebook group I would be taking the game, the 4 other spaces filled in less than an hour - which is a rare occurrence. When we got together, it was clear the other guys had noticed the hype and were excited to get going.