$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

For the Crown (Second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a just-promoted pawn get another order after Morphing? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know that when a piece swaps places with another, the second piece is not considered to have received an order; it could still march or attack this turn.

When a piece morphs as the result of an order-- say, because it's a pawn and it got marched into the 8th rank with Bureaucracy-- can the piece which replaces it receive an order this turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A morph doesn't replace one piece with another, it changes the type of the piece that's already there. It's still considered the same piece afterward, and therefore can't execute another order.

(Conversely, if you play Stables to march a dual-class foot/mounted piece twice, and it promotes after the first march, you can still march it a second time, because it's still the piece that you played the card on, and you haven't finished the card's instructions.)


Also, if you play an order card that causes you to swap 2 pieces, both are considered to have received orders. It's only the spy (to date) that can do a swap that doesn't count as an order for the other piece, because it's part of the spy's regular movement pattern (not a card effect). If you swap with a card, neither unit is "first", so it applies to both equally.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer and the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.