$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Encounters: Shadowrun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple Player Burning the Run rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Play. Always.
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules:

"If multiple players attempt a Datasteal, at the end of the each of their turns, if they fail to score, they may each discard a Shadowrunner to Burn the Run."

What on earth does that mean?

Only the next player to go can attempt a Datasteal. And if they BtR after their turn, there's no way the next player could attempt one. I don't see a situation in which this rule could ever come into play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Black
United States
New York
flag msg tools
I think what it's saying is if you have three players (A,B, and C) and the first player A fails their run, player B can datasteal if player A doesn't burn the run. If player B fails on their datasteal run player C can attempt to datasteal on the run initiated by player A but player B can choose to burn the run to prevent them. This datasteal cycle can continue through as many players playing until either the player that just failed burns the run or it gets all the way back to player A.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Play. Always.
mbmbmbmbmb
What's odd is that what you're saying not only makes sense, but is entirely covered by the rules even if you remove the sentence I quoted. If you read all the other rules, then it's clear that what you're saying it how it works.

And then this sentence comes up and makes it sound like multiple people can steal? Or that "each" player can/has to discard a runner to burn? Or something, who knows.

Anyway, thanks for your response. I'll just ignore whatever this sentence is inadequately trying to convey.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Chase
United States
Fremont
California
flag msg tools
mb
Which brings up the question: When/if it goes back to Player A, can he attempt to datasteal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the relevant rules text in its entirety:
Quote:

DATASTEAL
At the end of the previous player’s turn, the next player (now the Active Player) can choose to either start fresh and discard all previous Encounters—recovering all locked dice—or they can attempt
to Datasteal by keeping the previous player’s locked Encounters and continuing their own turn.
To do this, the player discards the previous player’s failed Encounter and flips up a new Encounter in the current Column. The player then rolls any unlocked dice against the new Encounter, with hopes of succeeding and grabbing the Nuyen for the already defeated Encounters from the previous turn.
All other rules for taking a turn apply normally.
A Datasteal attempt can only go around the table once. If every player fails to Datasteal, and play returns to the original Active Player who defeated those Encounters, all locked Encounters are discarded and the player starts fresh with a brand new Encounter in the First Column.
Even if new defeated Encounters are added by additional players (but not scored so that it keeps Datastealing), if play returns to the original Active Player who locked the first Encounters
currently in play, all Encounters are discarded.

BURN THE RUN
After the Active Player has failed to defeat an Encounter, that player may discard a Shadowrunner to Burn the Run so no Datasteal can occur.
If multiple players attempt a Datasteal, at the end of each of their turns, if they fail to score, they may each discard a Shadowrunner to Burn the Run.
The Shadowrunner discarded in this way cannot be Retained.
Special Shadowrunners:
Special Shadowrunners cannot be used to Burn the Run


I think the bolded line, which is the one in question, is just attempting to "clarify" that each player attempting to datasteal also has the option to burn the run (following that procedure) if they fail the datasteal. It's probably an unnecessary rule given that (a) only the Active Player may attempt a Datasteal and (b) the Active Player may burn the current run.

Just remember, the choice to Burn the Run (and a Runner to do so) happens *before* the current Active Player's turn ends, not after the new Active Player declares they want to Datasteal.

Quote:
Which brings up the question: When/if it goes back to Player A, can he attempt to datasteal?

Per the rules excerpt above, no, they cannot.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Play. Always.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, sounds like we're all in agreement. It's a misguided attempt to clarify.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.