Subject: Laminating tiles. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ultra Magnus
United States
Granville
OH - Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm just a soldier. I can't be a leader.
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this game is out of print and there are other Star Trek games out and on the horizon. But this is still the definitive Star Trek game IMHO. So I just laminated my tiles and there are some lessons to learn from my experience.

1. Scan Everything. If you are going to risk damaging your components in an effort to preserve them, scan them first. The person at the copy shop who laminated my tiles accidentally damaged 3 of them. Luckily I had scanned them all, and was able to mock up near identical tiles, which they printed on card stock and laminated at no charge.

2. No roller. To save time, many places will use a roll laminator, which has a roll of material so that it can laminate continuously without having to change sheets. The problem is that because of the way it laminates, everything comes out with a slight curve. After some research, I was able to put the tiles between two pieces of parchment paper, lay a dish towel over that, and use an iron on the highest non-steam setting to heat the tiles on each side, bend them into shape, heat them again, and then cool them under a heavy flat object. Now they are all nice and flat. However, asking the shop to use a standard sheet laminator with a cardboard sleeve, would have saved me the trouble.

3. Spacing. Let the copy shop know that you need space between the pieces so that they can be cut out properly.

4. Thickness. I did not specify a thickness for the lamination, so the copy shop used 3 mil, which is the thinnest available. The thickness is fine, but the remade tiles were done with 5 mil, which make them feel more like tiles. I am satisfied with the 3 mil, but I do like the 5 mil a bit better. Consider how thick you want your final product, and specify.