$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Flock» Forums » Rules

Subject: After Scoring, Whose Turn Is It? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danny Mack
United States
Santa Fe Springs
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / OCBG Member
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
mbmbmbmbmb
The game is played over 3 rounds. Activating the Competition card triggers a scoring step that ends the round. The Competition card is activated when a (round specific) threshold of birds is placed onto the card. Fine.

Let's say we have players A-B-C-D at the table, and player A was the early riser, so he started the game. Since then, player B has won the Dominance action and moved to the front of the (otherwise unchanged) line on the Initiative Track. So now we have B-A-C-D.

Now player C triggers the Competition/Scoring thing. We score. The round ends. Who begins the next round?
A) The next player who would have taken a regular turn.
B) The player at the front of the Initiative Track.
C) The player who was the early riser.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David J. Mortimer
United Kingdom
Melksham
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
A)

Play just rotates clockwise for the whole game.

Every players turn is either to place or activate. Competition is just an activate (although a rather critical one!)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Mack
United States
Santa Fe Springs
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / OCBG Member
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
mbmbmbmbmb
To be clear: the next player who would have taken a turn may not be in clockwise order, right? Depending on what has happened to the Dominance/Initiative track so far in the game?
The initiative track does equal turn order, right? It's not just about tie-breaking.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David J. Mortimer
United Kingdom
Melksham
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The initiative track has no impact on turn order. Play rotates clockwise the entire game.

Initiative track is for breaking ties when dominance and competition are activated.

Edit-typos
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Mack
United States
Santa Fe Springs
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / OCBG Member
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, so, this is more complicated than I thought.

1) We've got turn order (which does not change the whole game).
2) We've got pecking order (which only matters for the Dominance & Competition cards).
3) We've got the Initiative Track for breaking ties (but only for the Competition card).
4) And lastly, Reverse Initiative for breaking ties (but only for the Dominance card).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.