Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

EuroFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Invasions Query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Spicer
United Kingdom
Gerrards Cross,
Bucks
flag msg tools
A question that a game of WestFront has thrown up, and which I fear may be the result of the different wording between Euf and WF rules.

Is it possible to activate an HQ as an invasion HQ, even if it doesn't land any troops that turn?

My understanding for 1) has always been that to activate an invasion HQ you have to land a unit i.e. it represents the battleships, aircraft carriers, specialist support, etc that go with the invading troops.

But re-reading the latest WF rules, in 15.42 Invasion Movement it says 'can (in red) command', suggesting that it is possible in that game to activate an invasion HQ without moving a unit.

But 15.4 and 15,41 of EuF suggests it is not possible as it talks specifically about moving a unit ('each HQ commands the movement'). Which makes more sense to me.

Anyone advise on this - is it a rules inconsistency between the two games? Or am I mis-understanding/ misinterpreting?

Thanks
John









 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RedPlanet
Australia
Gold Coast
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

in a word 'yes'

an invasion HQ can be activated for the sole purpose of supporting combat of troops ashore.

see 15.51 in the EuroFront rules

NOTE: Invasion HQs may be activated
for Combat Support purposes only,
without commanding unit(s) to invade (or
being stacked with invadeable units).


as a rule, always defer to the EuroFront rules above others.
they get the most work -rework done to them.

Oh how I look forward to Summer 43!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Spicer
United Kingdom
Gerrards Cross,
Bucks
flag msg tools
Thanks - had never spotted that before.

Always more to learn as I move beyond EastFront
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.