$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Face up vs Face Down Damage/Horror - can some clarify rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Phillips
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorkshire,
flag msg tools
mb
Find the face-up vs face-down damage/horror confusing. Can someone make clearer please..

1) Sedatives card says remove 3 damage & 3 horror - can that be face-up damage?

2) when you reach wounded / insane stage do you discard all damage / horror and get that status or just face down damage / horror?

3) when you take damage or horror do you always read the card UNLESS it specifies face-down - right?? Some cards say 'suffer 2 face-down damage and 1 horror' - in thus instance is the horror face down or do you read it?

Keeps giving me brain ache lol.

Lastly on another point - do monsters move onto fire spaces? Does fire cause them damage? How dies fire damage players?

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Janne
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
daveyleedsUK wrote:
Find the face-up vs face-down damage/horror confusing. Can someone make clearer please..

1) Sedatives card says remove 3 damage & 3 horror - can that be face-up damage?


"When an effect allows an investigator to discard a Damage or Horror, he may discard a faceup card of his choice or a random facedown card." Rules Reference p. 7

Quote:
2) when you reach wounded / insane stage do you discard all damage / horror and get that status or just face down damage / horror?


"When an investigator becomes Wounded, he gains a Wounded Condition and discards all of his facedown Damage.
• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage." Rules Reference p.7

That is, resolve all face up damage/horror first, then discard all facedown damage/horror if still at the wounded/insane limit or above. Keep all the faceup damage/horror.

Quote:
3) when you take damage or horror do you always read the card UNLESS it specifies face-down - right?? Some cards say 'suffer 2 face-down damage and 1 horror' - in thus instance is the horror face down or do you read it?


2 facedown damage and 1 faceup horror. If facedown isn't mentioned, faceup is implied. So you resolve the horror.

Quote:
Lastly on another point - do monsters move onto fire spaces? Does fire cause them damage? How dies fire damage players?


Rules reference p. 9. "Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing Fire or moves into a space containing Fire, it suffers one damage." Monsters can move into fire, yes.

If player doesn't extinguish fire by doing an agility check or using fire extinguisher, he'll take damage if he doesn't move away from a space containing fire.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Masters
England
flag msg tools
#!STRING_NOT_FOUND!#
badge
Son of Jor-El
mbmbmbmbmb
1) yes

2) you discard all horror / damage cards regardless of if they're face up or not.
Turns out I'd been doing this wrong, I stand corrected
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Janne
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gazbowski wrote:
2) you discard all horror / damage cards regardless of if they're face up or not.


No. Only face down damage/horror is discarded. Face up stays.

If for some unlucky reason, if all damage/horror is face up, even after resolving them and they exceed or equal investigator's health/sanity, investigator is eliminated immediately.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gazbowski wrote:

-if an investigator moves into a fire space, or performs any action in a fire space other than move, they suffer 1 face down damage.

It might be worth mentioning something about extinguish test with this. For example, an Investigator can perform the extinguish action when there is fire in their space and they won't take damage unless the test fails.

On that point, here's a fun example of something that happened to me that may or may not confuse people, but it's interesting...

Situation (one room in the mansion with two adjacent spaces):

Space 1 contains Sister Mary, Bob Jenkins a near-dead Monster and a Fire token.
Space 2 contains a Fire token and a Search token that we want to access ASAP.

Problem: How do we try to get the Search in while taking minimal damage?

Now, we examined several options...

Option 1: Sister Mary tries to extinguish the Fire tokens with an Extinguish Action and a Move so that Bob can Move and Search. This would mean Sister Mary would need to evade the Monster twice, and Bob once, which was not desirable, especially given the monster would attack someone next turn.

Total damage taken: 2 Evade tests by Sister Mary and 1 evade test by Bob followed by a monster attack in the Mythos Phase.

Option 2: Sister Mary attacks the monster to probably kill it and then extinguishes fire in her space (or moves away). This means she takes 1 damage from the fire in Space 1, and Bob needs to take 2 damage from Space 2 as moving into it and performing the Search each cause damage.

Total damage taken: Sister Mary takes 1 facedown damage and Bob takes 2 facedown damage.

Taken Option: Sister Mary attacked the monster and killed it, taking 1 damage from fire. She then performed the extinguish action, getting 2 successes and removing the fire token in her space. Bob then used the Push Action (see rarely used actions) to push Sister Mary into Space 2 and move along with her. Sister Mary is able to extinguish the second flame with her second success from earlier (even though it's not her turn). Bob is then free to take a Search action on the token in Space 2.

Total damage taken: Sister Mary takes 1 facedown damage from attacking a monster while in a room on fire. That's it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Masters
England
flag msg tools
#!STRING_NOT_FOUND!#
badge
Son of Jor-El
mbmbmbmbmb
jhsa wrote:
Gazbowski wrote:
2) you discard all horror / damage cards regardless of if they're face up or not.


No. Only face down damage/horror is discarded. Face up stays.

If for some unlucky reason, if all damage/horror is face up, even after resolving them and they exceed or equal investigator's health/sanity, investigator is eliminated immediately.


Oops! Well I've been doing that wrong since I started, in that case. Thanks for the correction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.