$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tactics boromir question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonas Devos
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps a less intelligent question... but concerning Boromir's 'gain a threat to ready him' ability, are you allowed to use this after defending against an attack (ie. to defend twice or attack after defending in the same phase) and/or after attacking (ie. to attack a second time same turn)?

Reason i ask is because in the rules under 'Turn Sequence' there is no 'player actions' highlight after resolving attacks by and against enemies. However they are highlighted green. Is there a distinct difference between green phase-actions and the actual 'player action' highlight?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
the time in which you cannot use player actions is actually pretty narrow


when committing characters to the quest

when refreshing characters at the beginning of the refresh phase


when resolving questing cards for staging. ONLY response effects can be used once you start flipping them over. once you've flipped the last one, you again have an action window

all throughout the combat phase you have action windows between attacks, and various stages during attacks


when resolving attacks, the only times you don't have an action window are declaring the defender and flipping over a shadow card and applying its effect. you can use response effects again outside of that.

but the only thing is, while you do have an action window between flipping over a shadow card and resolving the attack itself, you have still flipped over the shadow card and applied its effect, so any effect that discards a shadow card must be done before flipping it over


as for your answer, yes, you can ready boromir to attack, defend, quest multiple times per round

but note: you may only declare one attack per enemy, so Boromir can't attack the same enemy twice (through normal means), but if an enemy can get multiple attacks, boromir can defend more than once (but cannot defend if it makes an immediate attack and he's exhausted)
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic B
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dr00 wrote:
as for your answer, yes, you can ready boromir to attack, defend, quest multiple times per round

I am sure Andrew didn't mean it this way but just to avoid misunderstandings here: Boromir can of course only commit to the quest once per round. He can ready after being committed to the quest and do other things like defending and attacking but can not commit multiple times.

Also I recommend this document which gives a pretty clear overview about every step of a round and you can see on the chart when player actions are allowed during a round Clarified Turn Sequence and Quick Reference w/ FAQs
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Mabry
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dr00 wrote:
but if an enemy can get multiple attacks, boromir can defend more than once (but cannot defend if it makes an immediate attack and he's exhausted)


I am pretty sure that the developers have clarified that immediate attacks initiate and start at Step 1 of the attack resolution (choose an enemy) as mentioned in the FAQ. This means that there is an action window in which you could ready an exhausted Boromir and defend an immediate attack.

It took me a little bit of searching but here is the source:

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/124614-immedi...

Relevant FAQ entry:

(1.26) Enemy attacks outside of the combat phase

If an enemy attacks outside of the combat phase, it is still dealt a shadow card at the beginning of the attack. Then follow the 4 steps under Phase 6 “Combat” in the rules
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.