Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Escape from Colditz» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do or Die Card Clarification? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jaz
Scotland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There was a question posed by the POW player in our last game in respects to the Do or Die card rules.

Does the POW pawn start "anywhere" in the inner courtyard including rooms (grey zone)then from that location gets "x" amount of dice rolls as per the selected card to reach ANY escape target on the board or is it one of the three escape targets the other side of the river/moat/blue line?

I believe that during the Do or Die escape run the POW does not require rope, pass, key cards etc to reach the chosen escape target but cannot use tunnels and he cannot be blocked by guard pawns. Correct?

Thanks for any replies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Burkley
United States
Hillsborough
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the first edition, the Do-or-Die card indicated a prisoner had to start from the Appel area (white spaces). In this latest edition, the POW can start in the inner courtyard. The inner courtyard is within the castle, as indicated by the gray spaces, so this latest edition is much more generous to the POW chances for escape on the Do-or-Die card.

You are correct in that the POW does not require equipment to pass by obstacles, but cannot use tunnels. In the first edition, during a Do-or-Die attempt the POW could not enter spaces occupied by the guards (black pawns), but I believe that in this latest edition that no longer applies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Ray
msg tools
mbmbmb
According to Osprey's new rule changes video, the Do or Die card has been taken out of the game. They did, however include it in the box though in case someone wanted to play by the classic, non-streamlined rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.