$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to handle Commonwealth units in Philippine Surrender? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Petri P
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
13.22 Philippine Surrender
The Philippines surrender when the Japanese player controls Ma-
nila (2813) and Davao (2915). Remove all allied ground units in
Philippine hexes from play during the National Status Segment. If
the unit is eligible for return to the game, such as a US HQ, it can
do so through the appropriate reinforcement and HQ rules.
Any US air or naval units in Philippine hexes when it surrenders
must use an Emergency Air or Naval move to leave Philippines.


So, where would the appropriate reinforcement rule be for handling a CW (not with a yellow dot) ground unit in the Philippines, when the Philippines surrender, and it will be removed? I would guess "enter as reinforcement at the next turn", but can't find that.

Also, US air or naval units need to make an Emergency move - what about CW (or Dutch, if they do not surrender at the same time) units? Will they be left there, after their ground units have been removed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Its rare to see the Philippines with Commonwealth units prior to Japanese conquest so the rule reflects that, written expecting only US units to be there. Allied ground units that are eliminated are treated like any other eliminated ground unit: They go into the dead pool. HQs return per their own rule. Allied naval and air units would have to use emergency movement, since all bases would convert to Japanese control.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petri P
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, remove here means "destroy"? Ok. CW should not try to occupy anything in the Philippines, as it is a deathtrap in surrender, unlike DEI.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's correct. Commonwealth may be able to help in Liberation though later in the mid/end game. It depends on Whether you managed to save ABDA or where you placed ANZAC.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.