Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lamps Are Going Out» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sussex Pledge? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil Mowatt
msg tools
On the U-boat attack table a roll of 8 states it's successful if unrestricted sub warfare and increase USA entry marker one space if the Sussex Pledge is in effect. I can't seem to find anything in the rules or on the event cards. Can anyone explain?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HERMANN LUTTMANN
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Sussex Pledge shows up on Event Card #54 in 1916.

Enjoy!

Hermann
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Brown
United Kingdom
Stockport
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I assume until the Sussex pledge event appears the Central Powers can use Unrestricted Submarine Warfare without risk - or have I missed something
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HERMANN LUTTMANN
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are some conditions spread into the Event cards and on the U-Boat tables that take that strategy into consideration. The chances that you'll irritate the U.S. are increased with Unrestricted Warfare.

Herm
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ware
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sorry, the wording for 2d6 = 8 is still a little unclear to me. Does it mean this?:
"If Unrestricted Warfare,
a) Success, and
b) If Sussex Pledge is in effect,
b1) Move U.S. Entry marker 1."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Uhlmann
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
If posture is Hague Convention, then rolling an 8 will result in no effect (and no movement of US entry marker regardless of the status of Sussex Pledge).

If the posture is Unrestricted, it is as you say - a roll of 8 would result in a Success and also (if Sussex Pledge is in effect) increasing the US entry by one.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.