Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The King's Abbey» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can we please get clarification on the mystery of Scriptorium? Thank you! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As others have noted, there is no benefit to buying a second Scriptorium -- unless the one-card ability is supposed to stack with the second-card ability.

Otherwise, here's the situation:

Let's say your roll includes two 5-pip dice. A single Scriptorum can give you an extra, "virtual" 5-pip die.

So, effectively, you end up with three 5-pip dice.

With that same roll, if you have a second Scriptorium, your two 5-pip dice give you an extra, "virtual" 5-pip die.

So, effectively, you end up with three 5-pip dice.

In fact, the second Scriptorium actually makes things worse for you (if they don't stack), because it prohibits getting the "extra" die from dice that don't happen to have a double.

So, please: Does the second-building Scriptorium ability stack with the first? Or are the rules just mis-printed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodney Cockrell
United States
Corona
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the unofficial FAQ description:

1x: You may use one dice as if it were two dice of the same value
2x: You may use two dice of the same value as if they were three dice of the same value
--> With two scriptoriums you may use this effect twice, With each activation you can choose if you want to use one die for two dice of the same value or two dice of the same value for three dice of the same value.
eg: You rolled 2x "1" and 2x"5". You may use the two "1" for your pews and put three peasants in the pews. Then you put your two "5" on a crusade card with three empty spots and complete it
--> You still don´t have to complete crusade cards at once. You have to keep these additional dice in mind. They remain on your crusade card until it is completed
--> You are still not allowed to use more than two dice on resource spots
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you -- shamefully I didn't know about that FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Rathert
United States
Missoula
Montana
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys,
With the reprint there will be revised rules on the scriptorium. Each player may only build one each.

Randy
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ransta2 wrote:
Hey guys,
With the reprint there will be revised rules on the scriptorium. Each player may only build one each.

Randy


Thanks much. Can't wait for the expansion as well!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.