Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Agricola: Family Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building stables rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
oskari
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Under NO circumstances go to
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook is a bit ambiguous on how stables come into play, so I'd like a few clarifications.

I think I figured out the Hausbau action: Pay 2 wood to take 1 stable from the bank, and build it on or next to a pasture. Repeat if necessary.

Then, with Renovierung, the rulebook says "you get 1 stable for free" and continues "the stable is built like in Hausbau". So, does this mean that
A) you get 1 stable from the bank into your personal stock and can build it later using another action (i.e. Hausbau or Einzäunen), or
B) you build 1 stable for free right now, or maybe even
C) you build 1 stable for 2 wood right now?






 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm guessing the German rules. Here's the English passage on that space:

If you like, you can also build one or more Stables on these action spaces. Each Stable costs 2 Wood and is placed in or next to your Pastures. Each Pasture can have at most 1 Stable.

For Renovation:

For 3 Clay and 1 Reed total, you may turn all of your Rooms to the Clay Room side. Additionally, you get a free Stable.

The difference is that when you build rooms, you can purchase several stables, as noted by the arrow on the space. In renovation, it's a static single stable.

As for ABC at the end, you have a choice. If you're building rooms, you can build just rooms, you can build just stables, or you can do both. With Renovation, you only renovate your house rooms, you only build a single stable, or you can do both.

When you take the action, you take a stable from your personal stock and place it on or next to one of your pastures. If you set it next to a pasture, when you place your next pasture, you can then move the stable into that pasture.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
oskari
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Under NO circumstances go to
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FunkyBlue wrote:
When you take the action, you take a stable from your personal stock

Exactly the source of confusion.

The stables are in the bank. Is there such a thing as "personal stock" for stables at all, or do they just get built directly from the bank onto your pastures (even when using Renovation)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no personal stock. When you build a stable (or get one for free), you take it from the general supply. You may place the new stable in a pasture. If you don't, place it next to one (or, if you have none, next to your display).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ania L
msg tools
In the case there is no personal supply, what does the following sentence mean?
"If you have a stable in your supply you may place it on a new pasture."

English rules, page 7.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sloppy wording - short for "stable outside of a pasture"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ania L
msg tools
Thank you very much! I really did not have an idea how to understand that
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Franklin
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
May you have a stable in your house?

If you do have it in your home, may you move it to a pasture, or is it only if the stable is completely unused that you can move it to a newly acquired pasture?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grandslam wrote:
May you have a stable in your house?

If you do have it in your home, may you move it to a pasture, or is it only if the stable is completely unused that you can move it to a newly acquired pasture?


If you have no pastures (or no pastures that don't already have a stable in them), you place it in an open area next to one of your existing tiles. When you build a pasture, you can move the stable onto the tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Skurr
Australia
Gold Coast
Queensland
flag msg tools
We have assumed that once built a stable must stay where it is built (and can not be moved).

Where does it suggest that you can move stables that have already been built. ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once a stable has been either been built on a pasture, it can't be moved from that pasture. You can build a stable outside of a pasture and then move it into a pasture you've built later. Once it's been added to a pasture, it cannot be moved out of that pasture.

Thematically, think about it this way. You build a stable in the middle of a field. It's by itself. Later on, you fence in a pasture around that stable, thus the stable is now in a fenced pasture.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Haralambos Damianidis
Greece
salonika
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
can i build 2 or more stables in only one action?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, as pointed out in the first reply of this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.