Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

War of the Ring (first edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mustering the Witch-king rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Atanasije Stojkovic
Serbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I read in the "baked rules" that all Shadow Minions can be recruited even during a siege.

Why has this been changed for the 2nd edition? According to the character cards, Saruman and The Mouth of Sauron can enter play in a Stronghold under siege, but nothing like that is written on the Witch-king's character card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It hasn't changed. Saruman and the Mouth of Sauron are both brought into play in Stronghold regions, while the Witch-king can be brought into play in any region containing a Sauron unit. The variation in the card wording is a result of this difference, as it would simply be awkward to reference Armies under siege in the limited space on the Witch-king's card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atanasije Stojkovic
Serbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
It hasn't changed. Saruman and the Mouth of Sauron are both brought into play in Stronghold regions, while the Witch-king can be brought into play in any region containing a Sauron unit. The variation in the card wording is a result of this difference, as it would simply be awkward to reference Armies under siege in the limited space on the Witch-king's card.


Does that mean that the Witch-king, Gothmog and Balrog can all be recruited into a Stronghold under siege? I skimmed through the Character Section of the rulebook and failed to find any information regarding that.

Balrog is being put also into play in a specific Stronghold region (Moria), however the fact that he could be recruited under siege is only referenced through the forthcoming portion which described what happens with the additional Sauron unit that comes into play along with him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sargeras777 wrote:
Does that mean that the Witch-king, Gothmog and Balrog can all be recruited into a Stronghold under siege?

Yes.

Sargeras777 wrote:
Balrog is being put also into play in a specific Stronghold region (Moria), however the fact that he could be recruited under siege is only referenced through the forthcoming portion which described what happens with the additional Sauron unit that comes into play along with him.

The Balrog is a special case. You'll notice that its muster condition doesn't include the restriction that Moria is unconquered. The second part of the card text ("if Moria is unconquered and not under siege, recruit one Sauron unit") applies only to the recruitment of the accompanying Army unit. As a result, if Moria is besieged, or even under the control of the Free Peoples, the Balrog can still be brought into play, but the Army unit will be forfeited.

NOTE TO READERS: These questions and answers apply to the 2nd edition expansion Lords of Middle-earth.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Subs
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about mustering Nazgul into Strongholds under siege? Obviously, it is allowed for Nazgul to MOVE into a Stronghold under siege without problem, and the chief Nazgul (Witch-king) can muster into a Stronghold under siege, so can the other Nazgul also muster into a Stronghold under siege?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, they cannot.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Subs
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, that seems right, there's nothing in the rules to indicate that they should, though the ability to fly into Strongholds does create a question mark, but that sounds right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.