$35.00
Michael Lazar
United States
Bethesda
USA
flag msg tools
This way you could move a stack into the hex and attack from it. Seems inside the rules since it says markers go on friendly hexes (no mention of needing a unit in the hex)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The rules are clear that you may only place an attack marker on a friendly occupied hex. All move and attack makers are placed before any units are moved.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Martin is correct.

Placing an attack marker in a vacant hex is not legal.

See 9.1. "Only combat units in a hex Activated with an Attack marker may initiate combat."

To emphasize this more strongly I would amend rule 6.24 to read:

"Only friendly occupied hexes may be activated. Move and Attack markers may never be placed in vacant hexes or in hexes containing enemy units."

This is readily inferred from the wording in rule 9.1 but there's no harm having additional wording in 6.24.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.