$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can someone refuse to get a enlist bonus? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yongtae Park
msg tools

If someone will have the 6th star by an enlist bonus from his neighbor, then can he refuse to get the bonus to delay the end of the game expecting higher score?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is stated clearly in the rules that a player does not need to take a "benefit" if they do not want to. I don't have the rulebook in front of me, but perhaps someone else could point to the specific page reference?
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, all benefits in Scythe are optional. Here's one of the places the rules mentions this (page 10):

10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yongtae Park
msg tools


Thanks a lot!laughlaugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Niggel
msg tools
Stars are not optional, though. If you take a bonus and meet the criteria for a star, you can't decline the star. You'd have to decline the bonus itself.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian S.
Germany
Berlin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Beavercow wrote:
Stars are not optional, though. If you take a bonus and meet the criteria for a star, you can't decline the star. You'd have to decline the bonus itself.


..unless you were able to complete an objective, which is up to you to reveal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.