$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

De Kolonisten van Catan: De Koloniën» Forums » Rules

Subject: Which intersections can a pirate rob? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
K Katanianos
msg tools
In the English translation the word "next" is used to describe the position of the pirate relative to another ship or settlement. Am I understanding correctly that the word "next" refers to a "neighboring" intersection? i.e. the pirate can interact with a maximum of three neighboring intersections?

So in the example below the pirate can rob one of the following:
1. A colony token from the ship
2. A colony token from the colony settlement (settlement B)
3. A resource card from the home settlement (settlement A)



Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there another possible interpretation of "next"?

Dr. Reiner Düren
Catan GmbH
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K Katanianos
msg tools
The rules actually say "If the pirate is placed on an intersection next to a another player's ship or colonial settlement". This can also be interpreted as litterally next to the ship or settlement, i.e. on the same intersection as them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the rules say that a pirate can only be placed on empty intersections.

Dr. Reiner Düren
Catan GmbH
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K Katanianos
msg tools
Yes, of course. I understand now.
I just wanted to comment that if one reads that sentence by itself it can be ambiguous. But of course one has to remember the previous sentences.
Thank you for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.