There was a book (or possibly a series of 2-3 books) that I vaguely remember reading back when I was in upper elementary school that I can't remember either the titles or author of.

I read them in the late 70s, and they were already older books.

The book (or series) was about a group of kids in a village in Europe (possibly Holland or Denmark) possibly in teh interwar period, who ran around at night and played war games with a rival group of kids. They had a War of the Roses thing with some combination of red, white,a nd black rose groups. As I recall, they used a special language for secret messages - a "thieves tongue" that was something like pig latin.

The feel of the books, as I remember them, is something like the Swallows and Amazons series by Arthur Ransome.

Since I am now an uncle and a teacher, I am always tryingt o find the best books from my childhood to share with my nephew and my students.

ON a visit to my parents, I even searched the children's section of the library where I grew up, but couldn;t find it/them (the library does weed older titles out of their collection every few years).

Does anyone have any ideas on what this book (or series) might be?

Thanks for your assistance.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Probably not much help but I wonder if they were speaking "Bargoens" or "verlan" or "marols" (Dutch, french or flemish).

Wish I could help. .. it sounds like exactly the kind of thing in would have read myself, and I might have even, but I've got nothing.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul - the
Sweden
Lund
flag msg tools
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings; Look on my Works, ye Mighty, and despair!
badge
...and the Eye of Sauron the Terrible few could endure.
mbmbmbmbmb
My guess is Astrid Lindgren's books about Kalle Blomkvist.

I fast check says they are called "Bill Bergson" in english.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_Bergson

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls