$30.00
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Edit: The below post was written with a sleepy mind at 0130 in the morning, and probably should never have seen the light of day. Yet as my sleepy mind is no excuse, please take this post as a light-hearted quibble and by no means an indication of my opinion of CoH! I've got three games under my belt and am really enjoying it. I just got the solo expansion and ordered the Fire Fight Generator today!

Combine two givens:

1) That after 50+ years, my mind is littered with tidbits of crap which only serves to clog it up, much like dust balls clog your air conditioner grill, preventing your AC from working at max efficiency.
and,
2) I gotta wait till my wife goes to bed before setting-up CoH on the dining room table, which has me playing the game a little sleepy.

Which explains why the coloring convention of the movement and attack costs work to test my mental alertness! I'm new to the game and am working my way through the scenarios, solo. Tonight it was scenario 3. After the end of the first round while flipping all the counters to their fresh side, it dawned on me that for the Germans, I used the Attack Costs to pay for each units' movement!

Argh. I wasn't even thinking... I was asleep at the wheel.
After so many years of associating the color red with "attack" or, "fire", I have the damndest time keeping the two costs straight. Always, it's been: red = attack!

So I often find myself trying to pay the red cost to attack and the black cost to move. Usually though, I catch myself... Here's the typical conversation in my head:
"No, it doesn't cost three APs to move to the next hex. It cost only one! Remember, red equals move. It's black that equals attack!"

But tonight I didn't catch myself and thusly robbed the German squads of some ground they would've otherwise gained. Will have to start the game over tomorrow night.

Also, while I'm on the topic...