Erik Stonemark
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys,
I apologize in advance if this has already been brought up at some point, I may have missed it in the over 600 threads/forums on this game already, also, I am new to the BoB system, having just got the 3 games in the 2nd chance kickstarter, so bear with me. Also, most of my gaming experience has been with operational, campaign, and global type wargames, and only this year have I been getting into the more tactical squad/smaller unit type games like CoH, OST, and BoB.

I was getting accustomed to the rules when I noticed a couple lines in the fire section. My question is in regards to the following excerpt from the rules under the unit fire section:

Units may not fire into a hex containing friendly Infantry or
Guns, but may fire through a hex containing enemy or friendly
units (or both).

Okay, so I get the whole not wanting to fire at your own units idea, and also not risking hitting them by shooting at enemy units that are in the same hex. But then being able to fire through an area that they are in and hitting enemy units in hexes past them?

Can someone explain the rationale here? I know this may seem trivial and might not come up all that much, but it just strikes me as odd that you cannot do one thing, but can do another that is basically having the same effect on one hex(bullets are flying into and or through a given area). I understand the scale of this game and approximately how many soldiers each unit can possibly represent, at times there may be adequate space to fire through, but at other times not. I also get that if two enemy units are in melee, things could be bad if a friendly unit opened fire trying to hit the enemy.

But wouldn't the same be true if they are trying to hit enemies behind?

Or are we able to use the rationale that the friendly units are hunkered down or only in one part of a given hex?

So here is a little dry humor about a firefight with this in mind: