$35.00
Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
30 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Terra Mystica» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Well Duh: A strategy primer from someone who isn't good at the game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Peters-Campbell
United States
Santa Cruz
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not good at this game. I'm an enthusiastic player, and have been playing on Snellman for quite a while, but I never place well. I regularly finish at the bottom of Division 7 (for those who do not play the TM tournaments, that means I am right at the bottom!)

None the less, I think that over the last few weeks some things have crystallized for me, and I feel that I've gotten a bit better than I was. I'm hopeful that in the next tourney round I might finish somewhere in the middle of the worst division rather than at the bottom!

So that said, I'm writing a strategy post for other players who are new, or who are enthusiastically bad, in the hopes that some of my recent realizations might be useful to them. This will certainly all be of either the Well Duh category for veteran players, or may even be outright wrong.

Veteran players, feel free to castigate me as needed.

New players, I hope this is helpful but keep in mind that I am Not Good At This Game.

So here goes.

Faction Selection
There is a lot that goes into faction selection, and a lot of it is too detailed for me to usually think about. The tips I can give:

Try to select a faction that doesn't have neighbors on the wheel. If you must have a neighbor, try to make sure that the resource on the other side is uncontested. (e.g. if yellow is already taken, and you want to select red, it's better for you if green and gray aren't in the game)