Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I'm relatively new to the hobby. I started getting interested in board gaming about 18 months ago and it's become fairly obvious that while I'll gladly play coop, heavy euro or worker placement games, I generally prefer card-based games, specifically deck builders, more than most other types. I own Dominion, Star Realms, and Legendary: Marvel, the latter two with multiple expansions. I'm also a Kickstarter backer for the future card game, Unfair.

Everyone here seems to advocate sleeving cards for these types of games. While I see the obvious benefit (the cards last longer), to me there are other drawbacks. First, they don't tend to fit in the designated box the game came in, especially if you get multiple expansions. Second, the cards aren't as tactile when sleeved. Third, sleeving is expensive. Finally, I assume they would be much harder to shuffle and would just feel weird in your hand relative to the naked card.

Now, if you played Dominion 15x per month or something like that, I could also see the benefit of sleeving. But for a game like Legendary: Marvel, if someone had four expansions, you are talking a card inventory of well over 1,000 cards. If you played the game twice per month on average, the likelihood of cards coming into play over and over to the point where you would jeopardize the structural integrity of the card seems very remote.

What am I missing? Is this an OCD thing for those who sleeve? I'm not throwing stones with this thread. I'm generally interested in other people's perspectives and wondering if there is something I'm not factoring in with my decision not to sleeve.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Reasons to sleeve: