Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Patchistory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Honor: Gain culture track or VP? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lenz Poh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

After our first play, we were really confused as to when do we move our income track on the reference track and when do we get the resources straight out.

For example: Honor action - do we gain VP tokens directly, or do we increase our cultural track position (thereby gaining more VP during production)?

EG2: Hanging gardens of babylon - do we gain VP tokens directly, or do we increase our cultural track position (thereby gaining more VP during production)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Reasoner
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lenz,

Hi. Sorry you had some difficulties. Let's get them straightened out.

The key to your problem is the little Cog/gear symbol. Whenever you see that symbol, that is telling you to adjust the appropriate thing on your player board.

When you take the Honor action, you gain the Culture directly. You gain that many tokens.

When you get the Hanging Gardens, it has the Gear icon so you will adjust your Culture marker on your player board. Then get that much Culture during production on each turn.

Does that help?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lenz Poh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Eric,

As per this thread:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1253397/q-sun-icon-transport...

bjmviixii wrote:
The "sun" icon, I believe, is actually a gear and meant to match the gears on the production side of your tracking board. It just means that when everything else on your production board triggers, this also triggers.


That means Bryan is 'incorrect' and this COG/SUN/GEAR symbol simply means its a one time thing passive effect? IE, when patched the hanging gardens, we increase the culture on the reference track = number of sea owned, and henceforth after that this tile is essentially 'useless' and doesn't proc anymore? we will adjust our culture track whenever a new sea is gained, or decrease accordingly when a sea is lost?

The way we played (wrongly) is such that every round, we moved up our culture token on the reference board = # of sea space owned. That player chocked up a whole tons of victory points from such cumulative addition effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bryan, who you quoted, is correct. But so are you. It is just a misunderstanding about what he means by "triggered."

The gear icon means that the tile produces the resources shown (token/cube/coin) during the production phase. Your board merely reflects the resources provided by the gear icons on your tiles. You don't actually need that part of the board, you could just look at your visible tiles every production phase to determine what you produce. So you are correct that if you gain or lose seas with Hanging Gardens, you adjust your culture track. Similarly, if you patch over Hanging Gardens, you no longer produce anything from it, so you adjust your culture token backwards on the track to reflect the lost production of all your seas.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Reasoner
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chally wrote:
Bryan, who you quoted, is correct. But so are you. It is just a misunderstanding about what he means by "triggered."

The gear icon means that the tile produces the resources shown (token/cube/coin) during the production phase. Your board merely reflects the resources provided by the gear icons on your tiles. You don't actually need that part of the board, you could just look at your visible tiles every production phase to determine what you produce. So you are correct that if you gain or lose seas with Hanging Gardens, you adjust your culture track. Similarly, if you patch over Hanging Gardens, you no longer produce anything from it, so you adjust your culture token backwards on the track to reflect the lost production of all your seas.



This is a better answer than what I gave. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.