1. Does a headline affect the event on the same card. For example, Motherlode: I place two mines, which I assume means I roll + add unrest if necessary. But if the headline is already in effect, that wouldn't be the case. The rules say the headline card is placed after carrying out the event, which makes me think the headline *won't* affect the event that was played with the headline.
The rules specifically state that the headline does not effect the event on the same card.
2. Is it the case that there will only be 3 mayors the whole game? Only 3 immigrant phases?
I guess I'm wondering if in your hand of 5 cards at the beginning of the game - do all five of those get played before any immigrants are placed or votes are calculated or roles are exchanged?
Edit to add: The text on p. 6 confuses things for me: "Repeat this process until all have resolved their cards, thus ending the Era" But this process is referring to determine which player has lowest MM and then resolving that card, which makes me think an Era is a round of each player playing 1 card. But then... That would mean the game is only 3 cards played per player which is definitely not right...right?
You play all 5 cards in each era.