Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The German Fleet is home, is it affected by the capture of Hannover, or Berlin areas ?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Uhlmann
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
The simple answer is no, they are not affected.

The Port Box for the High Seas Fleet was drawn to overlap both the Hanover and Berlin areas, so for refitting purposes it could trace to either production area (though the need to trace is not specified in the rules specifically because it is a moot point – if both are controlled by the time Germany gets to the Production Phase, Berlin has not been retaken and the game is over). This covers all reasonable naval bases available that they could go to (Wilhelmshaven, Cuxhaven, Kiel, or even Hamburg and possibly others) and avoids a lot of special rules to deal with peculiar naval situations that rarely occur. In the case of a battle and liberation of Berlin, I just figure the significance of the battle for Berlin itself overshadows any Triple Entente efforts to neutralize all the naval bases, again to avoid special rules and also the question of whether the High Seas Fleet could escape elsewhere in the Baltic – and control of Berlin will last at most one turn anyway – either it is liberated or the game is over. If control of Berlin (and Hanover) could last more than a turn, then there would probably need to be some effects over naval bases but as it is, I didn’t think a paragraph of special rules were worth it compared to the strategic implication of those situations at that point in the game.

Thanks for the question,

Kirk
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.