Cole Munro-Chitty
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adrianne Martell's ability reads "Put a character with printed cost 5 or lower into play from your hand. Then, return Arianne Martell to your hand (cannot be saved). Limit once per round.

If she has a duplicate, does the duplicate also go back to your hand? Or does it stay on the table, allowing for an easy duplicate during the next marshaling phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duplicates never come back to hand. If you bring Arianne back to hand, any duplicates get discarded.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Jim is spot on. Here's the reference that specifically mentions what to with a discard (when an in-play card is returned to your hand):

Rules Reference, Page 12, "Leaves Play", 2nd bullet

And key to the above reference, note that when a card is returned to the hand, it goes from an "in play" state to an "out of play" state (see, "In Play and Out of Play", page 9)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.