$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Imperial Settlers: Atlanteans» Forums » Rules

Subject: So I read this Portal article about the Tech tokens... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glikwizz the tinkerer
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
And while the article answered the question that it was relating to the answer also created another question for me. The question arises from the example, and I quote:

"Your opponent is playing the Atlanteans and has a Wood Market in play with both a Basic and Advanced Scoring Technology token. During the Production phase, your opponent receives 2 Wood tokens and 2 Victory Point from this Location thanks to the technology tokens…"

The question is why does the Atlantean player receive 2 VP? It should only be 1. The Wood Market only PRODUCES once, this is during each Production Phase (granted what it produces each time is now 2 wood each time because of the Basic Tech token, but it only produced once).

Also, it could be easily argued that the answer the article is giving, to the question presented in the article, is not as clear cut as the article writer is implying.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Starek
Czech Republic
Sezimovo Usti
flag msg tools
REALLY badass
mbmbmbmbmb
Production and Feature cards are most easily explained like this:

With standard technology token, these cards are always triggered twice during the moments when they should be normally triggered. Upon each such "triggering", the Scoring technology is also activated.

This is also a way how to understand the doubling of more complex cards, such as "take two cards, keep one of them, shuffle the other back", which is one of the common production cards in Why Can't We Be Friends. You simply do the whole thing twice (and trigger Scoring Technology each time, if present).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
myyysha wrote:
Production and Feature cards are most easily explained like this:

With standard technology token, these cards are always triggered twice during the moments when they should be normally triggered. Upon each such "triggering", the Scoring technology is also activated.

This is also a way how to understand the doubling of more complex cards, such as "take two cards, keep one of them, shuffle the other back", which is one of the common production cards in Why Can't We Be Friends. You simply do the whole thing twice (and trigger Scoring Technology each time, if present).


This is correct. There have been a few thread on this, as the rules were not really very clear on how technology tokens worked, and caused a lot of confusion. Doubling for these is it triggers twice vs double all the numbers.

Given that it is a Portal article, you would assume they know their rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glikwizz the tinkerer
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
mogust wrote:
myyysha wrote:
Production and Feature cards are most easily explained like this:

With standard technology token, these cards are always triggered twice during the moments when they should be normally triggered. Upon each such "triggering", the Scoring technology is also activated.

This is also a way how to understand the doubling of more complex cards, such as "take two cards, keep one of them, shuffle the other back", which is one of the common production cards in Why Can't We Be Friends. You simply do the whole thing twice (and trigger Scoring Technology each time, if present).


This is correct. There have been a few thread on this, as the rules were not really very clear on how technology tokens worked, and caused a lot of confusion. Doubling for these is it triggers twice vs double all the numbers.

Given that it is a Portal article, you would assume they know their rules.


I have read their rule books and am not so sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chevee Dodd
United States
Fairmont
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Preachersson wrote:
mogust wrote:
myyysha wrote:
Production and Feature cards are most easily explained like this:

With standard technology token, these cards are always triggered twice during the moments when they should be normally triggered. Upon each such "triggering", the Scoring technology is also activated.

This is also a way how to understand the doubling of more complex cards, such as "take two cards, keep one of them, shuffle the other back", which is one of the common production cards in Why Can't We Be Friends. You simply do the whole thing twice (and trigger Scoring Technology each time, if present).


This is correct. There have been a few thread on this, as the rules were not really very clear on how technology tokens worked, and caused a lot of confusion. Doubling for these is it triggers twice vs double all the numbers.

Given that it is a Portal article, you would assume they know their rules.


I have read their rule books and am not so sure.


OUCH!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glikwizz the tinkerer
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
myyysha wrote:
Production and Feature cards are most easily explained like this:

With standard technology token, these cards are always triggered twice during the moments when they should be normally triggered. Upon each such "triggering", the Scoring technology is also activated.

This is also a way how to understand the doubling of more complex cards, such as "take two cards, keep one of them, shuffle the other back", which is one of the common production cards in Why Can't We Be Friends. You simply do the whole thing twice (and trigger Scoring Technology each time, if present).


So by this interpretation the rule for the Tech tokens should read "Placed on a Production Location doubles that LOCATION. (As if there are 2 copies of the same card) NOT "Placed on a Production Location doubles its production".

This goes the same for the Feature part as well.

Then the rule would just need to be added that for end game scoring the Location still acts as just 1 Location (card).

Just badly written rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chevee Dodd
United States
Fairmont
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Preachersson wrote:

So by this interpretation the rule for the Tech tokens should read "Placed on a Production Location doubles that LOCATION. (As if there are 2 copies of the same card) NOT "Placed on a Production Location doubles that production".

This goes the same for the Feature part as well.

Just badly written rules.


Nope. Doubles the production. You don't get double points for having two locations.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glikwizz the tinkerer
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
So you are saying then that the Production phase happens twice. Because "doubles the production" just implies 1 becomes 2 in a single Production phase. It is a wording issue on the card/s with regards to the rules supplied in the manual.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr Konieczny
Poland
Katowice
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Preachersson wrote:
So you are saying then that the Production phase happens twice. Because "doubles the production" just implies 1 becomes 2 in a single Production phase. It is a wording issue on the card/s with regards to the rules supplied in the manual.


Indeed.

So, does that meant that a production building with:
* only a tech token: produces 2x whatever it produces
* only an advanced tech token: produces regularly + 1 VP
* both tech tokens: produces 2x whatever it produces + 2 VP

Is this the correct analysis?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.