$30.00
Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is a City rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Hillier
United States
Kettering
OH
flag msg tools
WDYPTW Podcast
badge
I am the wurst!
mbmbmbmbmb
Are Phobos and Ganymede Colony cities? I've assumed yes since they have the city symbol.

Some cards specifically say "# of cities on Mars" vs. Energy Savings says "for each city tile in play". I assume in the latter they count.

This would also impact the Tharsis Republic Corp.





2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unfortunately, the answer to your question isn't specified anywhere in the rulebook (as far as I know), but I've interpreted things as you have.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
A city in Terraforming Mars refers to city tiles, the grey ones on the back of every greenery tile. The Capital special tile is also considered a city (white special tile). All cities are on Mars, except Ganymede Colony and Phobos Space Haven, hence the ON MARS restriction on some cards. This might be a little bit confusing at first, but it is dictated by the thematics of the cards. For example, Tharsis Republic is a Martian republic, so it would obviously not combine forces with the Ganymede colony over at one of Jupiter's moons. Zeppelins uses the atmosphere of Mars (hence the requirement on the card), and as such do not give bonuses for off-planet cities.
20 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Lord_Aethan wrote:
A city in Terraforming Mars refers to city tiles, the grey ones on the back of every greenery tile. The Capital special tile is also considered a city (white special tile). All cities are on Mars, except Ganymede Colony and Phobos Space Haven, hence the ON MARS restriction on some cards. This might be a little bit confusing at first, but it is dictated by the thematics of the cards. For example, Tharsis Republic is a Martian republic, so it would obviously not combine forces with the Ganymede colony over at one of Jupiter's moons. Zeppelins uses the atmosphere of Mars (hence the requirement on the card), and as such do not give bonuses for off-planet cities.

Also, the normal iconography indicates all city tiles in play, whether on Mars or not (Energy Saving, Rover Construction, Immigrant City, Pets, Immigration Shuttles).
The exceptions where only city tiles on Mars are counted are marked with an asterisk at the city tile icon on the respective card (Zeppelins, Martian Rails, Tharsis Republic MC production effect) and explained in capital letters in the text on the card.
Note that Tharsis Republic also has a 3 MC bonus for placing city tiles and that this 3 MC bonus is NOT restricted to cities on Mars (since it doesn't say so).

So yes, you got it right
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafal Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fryxen wrote:
Lord_Aethan wrote:
A city in Terraforming Mars refers to city tiles, the grey ones on the back of every greenery tile. The Capital special tile is also considered a city (white special tile). All cities are on Mars, except Ganymede Colony and Phobos Space Haven, hence the ON MARS restriction on some cards. This might be a little bit confusing at first, but it is dictated by the thematics of the cards. For example, Tharsis Republic is a Martian republic, so it would obviously not combine forces with the Ganymede colony over at one of Jupiter's moons. Zeppelins uses the atmosphere of Mars (hence the requirement on the card), and as such do not give bonuses for off-planet cities.

Also, the normal iconography indicates all city tiles in play, whether on Mars or not (Energy Saving, Rover Construction, Immigrant City, Pets, Immigration Shuttles).
The exceptions where only city tiles on Mars are counted are marked with an asterisk at the city tile icon on the respective card (Zeppelins, Martian Rails, Tharsis Republic MC production effect) and explained in capital letters in the text on the card.
Note that Tharsis Republic also has a 3 MC bonus for placing city tiles and that this 3 MC bonus is NOT restricted to cities on Mars (since it doesn't say so).

So yes, you got it right

Sadly Polish translator missed both the asteriks and the "ON MARS" and tanslated Tharsis production ability with "na planszy" which means "on board".
I wonders how many such nuances were missed and how much this particular change effects the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.