$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: App Rules: Engagement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Earle
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am trying to clear up a bit of confusion about a monster "engaging" movement action. If a monster is "engaging', it is trying to get close to a hero. If it runs out of movement points before it can get adjacent to a target, does it just stop there?

If the monster is trying to "engage the closest hero", does he keep moving past his movement point allowance to get to the target (adjacent if melee, not adjacent if he can "reach" or has a ranged weapon)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Beighel
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rulebook for Road to Legned says this:

Quote:
When engaging, a figure is trying to get adjacent to a target. It performs a move action and moves toward the target, stopping when it is adjacent or when it runs out of movement points.


This suggests that it gets adjacent even if it has reach. I guess if it runs out of movement within it's reach it will still attack if directed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fox Reinard
msg tools
Engage is "move as far as the monster is able until it reaches the hero or runs out of movement". If it runs out of movement, then the engage action is done and if there are no targets in reach it cannot attack. It can however Engage again, but that will end its activation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Normal descent rules always apply. So a monster cannot spend more movement points than his speed. If he cannot reach his target, he stops after having spent all of his available movement points. You then cycle through the list of available actions to see what he does next. This may be to engage again and spend a second move action to get into range, or it might be something else, like an attack or an ability.

Edit: typos
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Earle
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, guys, for your replies. They help a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.