GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,520 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: My cat-proof board gaming table rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregg L

Massachusetts
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have recently got into the hobby and have been enjoying some long form solitaire games like D-Day at Tarawa and my fold out table was not cutting it as my cat liked to jump on it.

I tried to cover it with cardboard but he still would jump (and lay on) the cardboard, knocking things around. I looked for a cheap table to convert but was striking out (I wanted a minimum of 3x5" rectangle) or they were too expensive to justify so being a bad carpenter I decided to buy a few sheets of MDF and make one.

I'm happy with the results, it's not pretty but it's very functional. The light turns on and off with a hidden switch under the right side (you can get at it sitting down).

I used 0.5" MDF - 3/4" would be more standard for a table but I doubled up with a smaller sheet across the middle so it wouldn't be bouncy. I looked at using Poplar but that would have been 2x as much cost ($40 a sheet here) and I planned on painting it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandre Santos
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty cool

Now I wonder if you could have a support on the lid to hang things while playing (magnetic, cork?)

Not yet sure about what precisely (wargame maps?), but so much space begs for an usage.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregg L

Massachusetts
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The magnets are a good idea. I have a stack of those little rare earth magnets somewhere around also.

I was considering buying some chalkboard paint for the back for notes but it's quite a reach.