Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Eschaton» Forums » Rules

Subject: GenCon rulebook clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacob Peck
United States
Baldwinsville
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
paperparachute games! http://games.suspended-chord.info/
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I asked Archon Games some questions on Facebook regarding the rules as outlined in the GenCon edition rulebook, and below are their answers:

1) There's nothing in the rule book I have about eliminating a player's last cube. Is it possible? What happens -- are they just out of the game at that point? Since you can only add cubes where you have cubes, essentially they'd be locked out of the map...

Archon Games wrote:
1. Cubes: A player may always place more cubes in the Citadel, even if they don’t have a presence there. In the dire event that a player’s cultists are completely wiped off the board, the Citadel remains an entry point. “You always have a friend in the citadel!”


2) The rules state that cultists place 4 cubes at the beginning of their first turn on 'The Capitol'. Where is that? It's not marked on the map. We played that it was The Citadel, but now The Old City seems to make more sense... Also, are every player's cubes placed before anyone has a turn (start of round), or are they placed at the beginning of that player's turn?

Archon Games wrote:
2. The Capitol: That piece of text in the rulebook should state The Citadel, not the capitol! (We will address that in an errata!)


3) Timing on map bonuses: do you gain the effect of the bonus as soon as you have majority in a region, or is it at the beginning of your turn, or maybe even round? This probably only matters for the Aggression bonus in The Great Road, where a player could move/place a few cubes and suddenly gain an aggression point...

Archon Games wrote:
3. Territory Bonuses: The bonus is granted if you are controlling that territory at the beginning of your turn.


4) Timing of plagues: when do they trigger? We assumed beginning of turn. If they disappear immediately when a region is empty, that means someone could move the last cube out of a region, remove the plague, and immediately move back in. If the plague check only happens at the beginning of the turn, that prevents this.

Archon Games wrote:
4. Plagues: The plagues trigger at the beginning of each player’s turn. If they have cubes present, then they must remove them. If no cubes are present at the end of that player’s turn, then the plague is removed.


5) Timing on auras: do auras which give you bonuses and have you remove cubes take effect at the beginning of the turn, or at the beginnings of the appropriate phases? For example, the aura Arcane Madness gives you +4 zeal at a cost of 3 cubes. Does the cube loss trigger at the start of the turn, or at the start of the aggression phase? Either way, this aura can lead to a situation where a player has to remove their last cube... so I guess we're back up to question #1.

Archon Games wrote:
5. Auras: Auras will trigger at the beginning of a player’s turn. It can cause a player to lose their last cube.


6) When Armageddon is drawn, does the current Omen resolve, or does the game end immediately prior to that?

Archon Games wrote:
6. Armageddon: The previously revealed omen is resolved as Armageddon is drawn! Armageddon acts like an omen in this way.


Additionally, they added:

Archon Games wrote:
These are revised in the final rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.