Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Opposing capturing leader rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefano Buscherini
msg tools
Can a leader oppose his own capturing, using his skill?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Absolutely. All non-captured leaders participate in all missions that take place in their systems. Captured leaders (along with all non-captured leaders) participate in missions that specifically target them.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
buscherinis wrote:
Can a leader oppose his own capturing, using his skill?

All leaders present in the system that are not captured can assist in missions in that system (and captured leaders assist to if the test is made against them).

So yes, a leader will oppose their own capture under normal circumstances.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To add to the above, as well, one important note: The leader that the capture attempt is targeting opposes even if he's the only leader there and doesn't have a matching skill, and the Rebel player can bring in another leader.

But even if he doesn't, and even if the leader doesn't have a matching skill, he's opposing the mission which means the Empire player still must roll at least 1 success.

Essentially, this basically means that you cannot auto-capture leaders (unless it's Boba Fett using Collect Bounty against a no-skill leader).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fed Aykin

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
To add to the above, as well, one important note: The leader that the capture attempt is targeting opposes even if he's the only leader there and doesn't have a matching skill, and the Rebel player can bring in another leader.

But even if he doesn't, and even if the leader doesn't have a matching skill, he's opposing the mission which means the Empire player still must roll at least 1 success.

Essentially, this basically means that you cannot auto-capture leaders (unless it's Boba Fett using Collect Bounty against a no-skill leader).


Is there a rules reference for this? Seems like a good design, but I'd like to be able to point to it in the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference Guide, Page 9 wrote:
If there are at least one Imperial and one Rebel leader in the system, the mission is opposed, and players must roll dice to determine whether the mission succeeds. Each player rolls a number of dice equal to the combined number of skill icons on all of his leaders in the system whose skill icons match the mission card’s skill.

...

* If the opponent has a leader in the system but no matching skill icons, the player attempting the mission must still roll dice and needs at least one success to succeed at the mission.

...

* When a mission is attempted “against a leader,” that leader automatically participates in the mission.



I think that should cover it

(The Boba Fett/Collect Bounty thing isn't specifically in the rules, just a logical inference, because Boba Fett with Collect Bounty gets two automatic successes, so against a leader with no skills, he would automatically succeed. Note that if the opposing leader(s) had even ONE skill icon, dice must still be rolled, because if Boba Fett rolled 0 successes and the opposing roll had a lightsaber (worth 2), the capture attempt would fail).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fed Aykin

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.