Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Medic abilities question (no spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rebecca Huffman
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
The Medic ability states:

If the Medic at any time finds herself in a city that contains cubes of a disease that has been cured, she may immediately remove all of those cubes.

We have been playing this with scenario (a): if it must be the Medic's turn to remove all the cubes, but it strikes me that it's possible it could mean scenario (b): if the medic is in a city with cubes of black, and that color gets cured during someone else's turn, it could possibly mean that the Medic can immediately remove those regardless of whose turn it is (potentially helpful if it is the bottom card selected in an Epidemic and you want to make sure there is not an outbreak).

If not available during the Epidemic, what about scenario (c): if the person curing turns over the Epidemic card and the group wants to avoid the potential of an outbreak on subsequent turns - can they 'immediately' cure after the Epidemic is resolved?

What do you think? Which way have you been using the ability? My hunch is that scenario (c) may be the intended use but scenario (b) is probably not the case (considering the fact that abilities to be used in the midst of Epidemics are usually clearly marked).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
If the Medic is ever in a city with cubes of a cured disease, remove them immediately. If you ever try to put cubes of a cured disease in the city where the Medic is, don't.

The effect basically works in every way it possibly could: if the Dispatcher moves the Medic, she mops up cubes as she goes. The Researcher can pass somebody a city card, the recipient can immediately cure the disease thanks to a positive mutation and the Medic can then remove cubes in the city where she's standing. If, during an Epidemic, you pull the card of the city where the Medic is from the bottom of the deck and that disease is cured, you don't place the cubes, even momentarily, which might save you from losing by running out of cubes.

Oh, and the Medic even has time to remove cubes between you curing a disease and winning the game, which could mean the disease gets eradicated and you have the option of applying a positive mutation.

In regular Pandemic, the Medic is reckoned to be one of the strongest characters. In Pandemic Legacy, while she might be at first, that... can change. (-8
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Tassi
Italy
Piacenza
PC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
clivej wrote:


Oh, and the Medic even has time to remove cubes between you curing a disease and winning the game, which could mean the disease gets eradicated and you have the option of applying a positive mutation.


Oh, that surprises me: doesn't the game ends immediately as soon as the objectives are resolved? If curing a disease is the final part of the "last" objective, shouldn't the game end as soon as the disease is cured?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tassonik wrote:
clivej wrote:


Oh, and the Medic even has time to remove cubes between you curing a disease and winning the game, which could mean the disease gets eradicated and you have the option of applying a positive mutation.


Oh, that surprises me: doesn't the game ends immediately as soon as the objectives are resolved? If curing a disease is the final part of the "last" objective, shouldn't the game end as soon as the disease is cured?

If the Medic is in a city that contains the last cubes of a color, and someone cures that disease, the Medic's ability will trigger and remove those cubes before the game ends.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
tassonik wrote:
Oh, that surprises me

It surprised me, too, but it's official!

It being surprising is why I thought it worth mentioning. No point explaining rules that are obvious and as expected, is there? (-8
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.