23 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Clash of Cultures vs. Dominant Species rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Reyes
msg tools
Hello, everybody!

My name is Kevin, and I'm studying to be a Biologist.

This is my issue: I played Civilization V on the PC and I loved it, so I decided to buy Civilization: The Board Game, and I bought it. I really liked it, and it was succesful among my friends.

Recently, I decided that I would buy Clash of Cultures, because a lot of people like it and compare it to Civ, and honestly I really like the strategy and the little figures and all, so I wanted to give it a try.

But... while I was on YouTube looking for a Clash of Cultures review I found one video about Dominant Species and couldn't help getting excited about it. As a student of Biology, I find Dominant Species exciting, and I like all the little references about the natural world. The problem here is that I don't have enough money to buy both of them, so I have to make a decision.

I know that they're very different type of games, as for theme and strategies, but currently this causes me a problem.

So, I need your help guys. I like the developement of cities and civilizations, I just love how they pass from being a little encampment to be a huge empire, capable of conquering the whole world. On the other hand, I loved the crazy and frenetic gameplay of Dominant Species, it is as chaotic as the real world, I find it very entertaining and well-designed. One thing that I've read is people saying that DS is very heavy or that it demands a lot of attention. I want a challenge, but I don't want to spend my money on a game that people wont't play.

I don't want to be rude, or seem exigent, but please, avoid ambiguity. Tell me, which one should I buy, and why is it better than the other?

Thank you so much for reading. Sorry for the bad English. Have a nice day

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Debije