Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

1844/1854» Forums » Rules

Subject: [1854] Auction Round, Player initiative following an Auction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philihp Busby
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Let's say we're in an auction with Alice, Betty, Cindy, Debby, and Erica (in that turn order).

It is Alice's turn, and Ausserfernbahn (the first private) has not been bought. Murtalbahn (the second private) has 2 bids, one for 20 G by Cindy, and one for 25 G by Debby. There are no other bids on any other company.

Alice buys Ausserfernbahn for 5 G. That's cool, but now we go into an auction for Murtalbahn between Cindy and Debby. Cindy decides to retract her bid and get her money back, so Debby ends up buying Murtalbahn for 25 G. That's cool.

The next player now has an opportunity to buy Graz-Koflacher Bahn (the third private) at 70... who has the initiative?

* Betty goes immediately after Alice, is it Betty's turn?
* Cindy made the last decision, is it Debby's turn?
* Debby made the last action (although it as a forced action to buy Murtalbahn), is it Erica's turn?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evelin Auger
Canada
Portneuf
Québec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules:

As soon as the topmost certificate has been sold, the next company in line is checked:
- If there’s no bid, the player’s turn in over, and the next player may buy the company for the printed price.
- If there’s exactly one bid, that player gets that company and pays that money to the bank.
- If there’s more than one bid, all players involved may par cipate in the following
auction. The player with the lowest bid may increase the highest bid by at least 5 G or pass and take no further part in the auc on. Next is the player with the now- lowest bid. This continues until only one player remains. This player acquires the cer cate and pays the nal amount to the bank.

I think you have to always choose one of the three possibilities until the first choice is the only one left. The next player will then be playing. (Betty)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene van der Pijll
Netherlands
Den Haag
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
philihp wrote:
Let's say we're in an auction with Alice, Betty, Cindy, Debby, and Erica (in that turn order).

It is Alice's turn, and Ausserfernbahn (the first private) has not been bought. Murtalbahn (the second private) has 2 bids, one for 20 G by Cindy, and one for 25 G by Debby. There are no other bids on any other company.

Alice buys Ausserfernbahn for 5 G. That's cool, but now we go into an auction for Murtalbahn between Cindy and Debby. Cindy decides to retract her bid and get her money back, so Debby ends up buying Murtalbahn for 25 G. That's cool.

The next player now has an opportunity to buy Graz-Koflacher Bahn (the third private) at 70... who has the initiative?

* Betty goes immediately after Alice, is it Betty's turn?
* Cindy made the last decision, is it Debby's turn?
* Debby made the last action (although it as a forced action to buy Murtalbahn), is it Erica's turn?


Betty.

Alice is the last person to have had a turn in this round. An auction or sale of a private because of advance bids is done outside the normal turn order.

(This is the rule in most 18xx games, and 1854 is no exception.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustav W
Sweden
Lund
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
philihp wrote:
It is Alice's turn, and Ausserfernbahn (the first private) has not been bought. Murtalbahn (the second private) has 2 bids, one for 20 G by Cindy, and one for 25 G by Debby. There are no other bids on any other company.

Alice buys Ausserfernbahn for 5 G. That's cool, but now we go into an auction for Murtalbahn between Cindy and Debby. Cindy decides to retract her bid and get her money back, so Debby ends up buying Murtalbahn for 25 G. That's cool.

Some corrections:
Minimum bid is 5 higher than the printed price or the highest bid so Cindy's bid should have been (at least) 55 G and Debby's (at least) 60 G for Murtalbahn.

Alice should have payed 20 G for Außerfernbahn, the price is only reduced by 5 if everyone passes (i.e. not placing a bid) in a row.

and yes, Betty is next.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philihp Busby
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Webbe wrote:
philihp wrote:
It is Alice's turn, and Ausserfernbahn (the first private) has not been bought. Murtalbahn (the second private) has 2 bids, one for 20 G by Cindy, and one for 25 G by Debby. There are no other bids on any other company.

Alice buys Ausserfernbahn for 5 G. That's cool, but now we go into an auction for Murtalbahn between Cindy and Debby. Cindy decides to retract her bid and get her money back, so Debby ends up buying Murtalbahn for 25 G. That's cool.

Some corrections:
Minimum bid is 5 higher than the printed price or the highest bid so Cindy's bid should have been (at least) 55 G and Debby's (at least) 60 G for Murtalbahn.

Alice should have payed 20 G for Außerfernbahn, the price is only reduced by 5 if everyone passes (i.e. not placing a bid) in a row.

and yes, Betty is next.


Ah thanks!

And thanks everyone else. Betty seems like the logical choice to me too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evelin Auger
Canada
Portneuf
Québec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is different at the very end of the auctions. The player to the left of the one buying the last private will be the first player for the stock turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.