$30.00
Glenn Van den Bosch
Belgium
'S Gravenwezel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the example ‘AI closest to a unit or Mission Objective > Low risk move towards’ the AI cannot move closer to the Unit because the low risk movement rules (5.3.1) prohibit short range distance.

It cannot move into a non-Fire zone hex (none existing without increasing the distance ) nor into a hex with the same of higher DM as the starting hex (which is in the woods).

According to the low risk moves rules for an AI in a fire zone, the next step would be ‘move towards the Target’s flank’. This is quite possible by moving into the hex in the right hand corner below (distance to Unit remains the same). In the example however this step was skipped and the last option, ‘pivoting towards a flanking unit’ was chosen. What am I missing here ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Glenn,
Here is the section of rules you are refering to:
*****
If the AI IS in a Fire Zone, the AI:
-will move into a non-Fire Zone hex, then
-will move into a Fire Zone hex that has the same or higher DM as the AI’s starting hex DM, then
-will move towards the Target’s flank if the AI cannot move closer, then
-will pivot towards a flanking Unit if the AI cannot move.
*****

It should read like this to make more sense and in line with the original intent:
*****
If the AI IS in a Fire Zone, the AI:
1. will move into a non-Fire Zone hex, then
2. will move into a Fire Zone hex that has the same or higher DM as the AI’s starting hex DM, then
3. will move towards the Target’s flank if the AI cannot move closer and the hex is the same or higher DM or not in a Fire Zone, then
4. will pivot towards a flanking Unit if the AI cannot move.
*****

The AI does not move towards the Flank because the hex it would move into is in the enemies Firezone and has a lower DM than the hex it starts in. The only way the AI can lower its risk is by pivoting.

Let me know if I need to clarify any more.

Best Regards,
Gunter
Academy Games
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Van den Bosch
Belgium
'S Gravenwezel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The addition of 'and the hex is the same or higher DM or not in a Fire Zone' to the rules text makes it perfectly clear here why pivoting was the only option left. Thank you for your swift response !
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.