Popular Tags: [View All]
David Rice
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Everyone,
I'm finding myself more and more drawn into the Marvel universe lately, and really like the movies and the stories, but have heard that the movies play fairly loose with accuracy.

So...I'm looking for some help with complete origin stories....specifically if there is a series or trade paperback that gathers all of the characters'origins in one collection? Or rather, is there one (probably fairly large) book I should be looking for?

Be gentle, as I'm pretty new to comics and know little about what the foundational reading should be....looking to get there though!

Thanks for your help!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Posa
United States
Lebanon
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
'Origins of Marvel Comics' and 'Son of Origins' are classics, but out of print. They are not rare, though, so you should be able to find them easily enough. They were published in the 70s. Also, check out 'Bring On The Bad Guys' and 'Superhero Women' - more origin stories for villains and female characters.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave, or "Phineas" or "Tolstoy" or,
United States
Mount Holly (Gastonia / Charlotte)
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DylanP wrote:
'Origins of Marvel Comics' and 'Son of Origins' are classics, but out of print. They are not rare, though, so you should be able to find them easily enough. They were published in the 70s.
Oh man, do those titles bring back memories! I can still remember seeing the ads for them in the comics I was reading in the mid to late 70s! I never did purchase them though. But that would be a good place to start.