Rick Mullinix
msg tools
Can you discard the same card that you just drew from someone's discard pile? The rules does not specifically answer this question. It might be advantageous to just pick up a discarded card and immediately discard it. Perhaps to avoid being forced to discard a valuable card. Or perhaps to prolong the game.

For example,
1. You draw a great card from the top of the deck
2. Knowing you are required to discard a card, you draw from someone's discard pile
3. After placing a card in your arboretum, you proceed to discard the card you just picked up in step 2.


http://www.zmangames.com/uploads/4/7/1/7/47170931/en-arboret...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars F.
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is possible.
The rule just demands you to draw 2 cards (from any pile or several piles as you wish) and also tells you that you have to discard 1 card at the end of your turn. It does not specify which card you might or might not discard.

And it might even become necessary, e.g. if you desperately need the 2nd topmost card in your opponents discard pile.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A Huynh
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's possible to discard the card you just drew from a discard pile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles-David
Canada
Mascouche
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
“Happiness is nothing unless it exists side by side with sadness. Two sides. One coin” - 7th Doctor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Totally agree. Or I've been playing wrong for a while now....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Darcy
Australia
Blue Mountains
New South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have even used pick up & discard to work through my opponents discards to accumulate an entire suit that neither of us wanted earlier in the game. I have even managed to lay down 1...8 this way. devil She is wise to it now, so it is unlikely to happen again. cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars F.
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GregDarcy wrote:
I have even managed to lay down 1...8 this way. devil

And which one did you use for scoring?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Florino wrote:
GregDarcy wrote:
I have even managed to lay down 1...8 this way. devil

And which one did you use for scoring?


If no player has cards of a particular color in their hand,
then all players have the right to score points for paths of
that color
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars F.
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zombiegod wrote:
If no player has cards of a particular color in their hand,
then all players have the right to score points for paths of
that color

Oh? I was unaware of that. Did I miss that part in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Florino wrote:
zombiegod wrote:
If no player has cards of a particular color in their hand,
then all players have the right to score points for paths of
that color

Oh? I was unaware of that. Did I miss that part in the rules?

zombiegod's quote is directly from the rules - page 6, right above "Scoring the paths."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars F.
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gillum wrote:
Florino wrote:
Oh? I was unaware of that. Did I miss that part in the rules?

zombiegod's quote is directly from the rules - page 6, right above "Scoring the paths."

Yes, thank you very much for reminding me of that rule!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It somehow feels a bit cheesy to draw and discard the card from your own discard pile. Can't help it, but it somehow feels wrong to me, to be able to do that...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.